Print RSS
Oklahoma State, West Virginia Headline Preseason All-Big 12 Soccer Team
August 09, 2012

Reigning Big 12 Champion Oklahoma State and new Conference institution West Virginia each landed four athletes on the 2012 Preseason All-Big 12 soccer team, as selected by the league's head coaches. Texas and Texas Tech also placed a pair of players on the squad.

OSU All-American goalkeeper Adrianna Franch and defender Carson Michelowski earned All-Big 12 First Team recognition last season, while helping OSU to a program-best 22-2-2 record and a fourth-consecutive regular season crown.

Texas Tech's Jaelene Hinkle, Texas' Hannah Higgins and OSU's Megan Marchesano all earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors for the 2011 campaign and Hinkle was also named to the All-Newcomer Team.

WVU's Bry McCarthy, Bri Rodriguez, Kate Schwindel and Frances Silva all made the preseason squad in the Mountaineers' inaugural Big 12 Conference season. Last year, WVU put together a 17-5-0 record before appearing in its 12th consecutive NCAA tournament.

The 2012 Big 12 preseason soccer poll will be announced on Friday, Aug. 10 and the Big 12 soccer season begins on Aug. 17, with each league team opening its 2012 campaign.


Pos.      Name                   School                     Year            Hometown         

G         Adrianna Franch        Oklahoma State       Sr.            Salina, Kan.

D         Jaelene Hinkle          Texas Tech              So.           Denver, Colo.

D         Bry McCarthy             West Virginia            Sr.           Ajax, Ontario

D         Carson Michelowski    Oklahoma State       Sr.            Plano, Texas

M         Kristin Cummins        Texas                     Sr.            Lewisville, Texas

M         Taylor Mathews         Oklahoma State        Jr.            Dallas, Texas

M         Bri Rodriguez            West Virginia            Sr.            Aurora, Ill.

M         Tiffini Smith              Texas Tech              Sr.            Fort Worth, Texas

F          Hannah Higgins         Texas                     Sr.            Flower Mound, Texas

F          Megan Marchesano    Oklahoma State       Sr.            Tulsa, Okla.

F          Kate Schwindel          West Virginia            So.           Livingston, N.J.

F          Frances Silva             West Virginia            Jr.            Overland Park, Kan.

Note: Ties in voting resulted in a 12-member team.
Coaches cannot vote for their own players

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More