Print RSS
FOX Sports Media Group to Televise Entire Big 12 Baseball Championship
May 15, 2013

FOX Sports Media Group is televising the entire Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship to a national audience for the first time. FOX Sports Networks (FSN) will televise the championship final. All games leading up to the final will air on FOX College Sports (FCS).

Coverage of the event from the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City begins Wednesday, May 22 and continues through Sunday, May 26.

"The Big 12 Conference is excited to showcase its baseball programs to a live television audience," Commissioner Bob Bowlsby said. "Oklahoma City and the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship have annually produced some of the country’s best collegiate baseball. We appreciate our partnership with the FOX Sports Media Group and welcome the additional exposure."

Bob Licht, Jack Lazorko, Chad McKee and Jay Payton will call the games. The quartet has spent the 2013 season covering Big 12 teams for FSN.

Tickets can be purchased by calling the Oklahoma City RedHawks Box Office at (405) 218-1000 or by visiting

The Championship is played under a two-division, double-elimination format. The eight teams with the best league records (based on winning percentage) in regular season competition qualify for the event and are divided into two divisions with seeds 1, 4, 5 and 8 in division one and seeds 2, 3, 6 and 7 in division two. There is no cross-division play until two teams reach the championship game on Sunday.

Wednesday and Thursday’s action includes four games, while Friday features a pair of contests. Semifinal action on Saturday will include a minimum of two or a maximum of four games depending on that day’s early game results.

The winner of the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship earns the league’s automatic bid into the 2013 Division I NCAA Baseball Championship.

This year marks the 15th year Oklahoma City has hosted the Conference’s postseason tournament.

The postseason crown has been won by eight different league squads. Past postseason champions include Kansas (2006), Missouri (2012), Nebraska (1999-2001, ‘05), Oklahoma (1997), Oklahoma State (2004), Texas (2002, ‘03, ‘08-’09), Texas A&M (2007, ‘10-’11) and Texas Tech (1998).

 About FOX Sports Networks (FSN)
FSN is the nation’s leading provider of local sports. Through its 21 owned-and-operated regional networks, FSN produces over 5,000 live local events each year and serves as the regional TV home to more than half of all MLB, NHL, and NBA teams. FSN is also one of the leading national distributors of collegiate sports, televising more than 1,000 events from the Big 12, Pac-12, SEC, ACC, and Conference USA. FSN’s nationwide roster of regional sports networks includes FOX Sports Arizona, FOX Sports Carolinas, FOX Sports Detroit, FOX Sports Florida, FOX Sports Indiana, FOX Sports Kansas City, FOX Sports Midwest, FOX Sports New Orleans, FOX Sports North, FOX Sports Ohio, FOX Sports Oklahoma, FOX Sports San Diego, FOX Sports South, FOX Sports Southwest, FOX Sports Tennessee, FOX Sports West, FOX Sports Wisconsin, PRIME Ticket, SportSouth, SportsTime Ohio, and Sun Sports.

About FOX College Sports (FCS)
FOX College Sports offers three nationally distributed college sports networks – FCS Pacific, FCS Central and FCS Atlantic. The three networks combine to telecast more than 900 live NCAA events annually. FCS is available to over 60 million homes and is seen by viewers in the nation’s 25 largest cities, including New York, Los Angeles and Chicago, San Francisco, Dallas and Atlanta, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis and Tampa. Key distribution partners include Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Charter Communications, Cox Communications, Cablevision Systems, Verizon FiOS, AT&T U-Verse, Mediacom Communications, and Cable One. For more information on where to find FCS, visit

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More