Print RSS
Big 12 Lands 13 Athletes on Maxwell, Bednarik Watch Lists
July 08, 2013

Six Big 12 football players have been named to the 77th annual Maxwell Award watch list and seven athletes were selected to the 19th annual Bednarik Award watch list.

Candidates on the Maxwell Award list include quarterbacks Blake Bell (Oklahoma),  Casey Pachall (TCU), and David Ash (Texas) along with running backs Lache Seastrunk (Baylor), John Hubert (Kansas State) and Charles Sims (West Virginia).

Since 1937, the Maxwell Award has been presented to America's outstanding collegiate football player and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. Watch list candidates are chosen on past performance and future potential by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee.

TCU led the conference by placing two players, defensive end Devonte Fields and cornerback Jason Verrett, on the Bednarik Award watch list. Other Big 12 candidates include linebacker Bryce Hager (Baylor), safety Ty Zimmerman (Kansas State), cornerback Aaron Colvin (Oklahoma ), defensive tackle Calvin Barnett (Oklahoma State) and defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas). The award has honored nation’s top defensive player since 1995.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29. The three finalists for each award will be revealed Nov. 25, with the announced on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala March 7, 2014.

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More