Print RSS
Eight Big 12 Softball Student-Athletes Earn NFCA All-America Honors
May 30, 2013

Eight Big 12 softball players have been named to the 2013 NFCA All-America Team, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced.

Oklahoma tallied four honorees, tied for the most of any squad in the nation. Texas followed with three selections, while Kansas had one representative.

Senior Keilani Ricketts and sophomore Lauren Chamberlain were named first team All-Americans, while senior Brianna Turang and sophomore Shelby Pendley were each placed on the second team. With four players recognized, the 2013 squad joins 2007, 2001 and 2000 for the most All-Americans in school history.

The two-time USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, Ricketts is 31-1 on the season with 311 strikeouts in 207.1 innings pitched. She ranks second in the country with 16 shutouts, is fifth in hits allowed per game (3.78), sixth in strikeouts per seven innings (10.5) and eighth with a 1.22 earned run average.

Chamberlain is a repeat performer on the All-American first-team. She joins Ricketts, Amber Flores and Heather Scaglione as the only two-time first-team selections in school history. The sophomore leads the nation in RBI per game (1.41), runs score per game (1.43) and slugging percentage (1.107). She is hitting .463 with 27 home runs, 79 RBI, a Big 12-record 80 runs scored and a .625 on-base percentage.

The 2013 Big 12 Player of the Year, Pendley is an All-American for the first time in her career. She is hitting .374 and ranks third in the country with 1.30 RBI per game, sixth with a .903 slugging percentage, seventh with 22 home runs and ninth with 0.23 home runs per game. Like Pendley, Turang is also a first-time All-American. She was named to the All-Big 12 First Team and first-team All-Region this season, while also being named to the inaugural 2013 All-Big 12 Defensive Team.

Texas pitcher Blaire Luna (First Team), third baseman Taylor Hoagland (First Team) and shortstop Taylor Thom (Third Team) all received the selections. The three honorees from the NFCA are tied for the most in a year in program history, joining the 1998 and 1999 squads.

Luna earned All-America honors from the NFCA for the third time in her career, but it is her initial appearance on the top team. She was an NFCA Second Team All-America honoree as a freshman and sophomore. Hoagland and Thom both earned the initial All-America honors of their careers.

Luna owns a 30-5 record and 1.16 earned-run average with 384 strikeouts in 229.2 innings this season. She enters the Women’s College World Series leading all Division I players in strikeouts, averaging 11.7 per seven innings.

Hoagland begins the WCWS with the second-most walks per game among Division I players at 1.19. Her .615 on-base percentage is the highest in program history and ranks third nationally.

Kansas’ Maggie Hull earned Third Team honors, becoming the first Kansas honoree since 2006. Her .456 batting average broke her own single-season record at Kansas and ranks third-best in Big 12 history.


First Team
Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma, P
Lauren Chamberlain, Oklahoma, 1B
Taylor Hoagland, Texas, At-Large-3B
Blaire Luna, Texas, P

Second Team
Shelby Pendly, Oklahoma, 3B
Brianna Turang, Oklahoma, OF

Third Team
Maggie Hull, Kansas, OF
Taylor Thom, Texas, SS

< Softball
Popular on
Load More