Print RSS
Seven Teams Earn Berths to NCAA Softball Regionals
May 17, 2010
Seven Big 12 softball squads will compete in NCAA Softball Regionals May 21-23. Missouri and Texas will both host regionals.

The Big 12, the Pacific-10 Conference and the SEC led all conferences with seven teams in the championship.

The Missouri Tigers earned one of 16 No. 1 seeds and the No. 9 seed overall in the NCAA Regional, which will be played in Columbia for the second straight season. MU finished second at the Big 12 Championship and has a record of 46-11 on the season.

Nebraska is the No. 3 seed in the Seattle Regional and will face second-seeded North Carolina in a nationally televised game on ESPNU. The postseason berth marks Nebraska’s 20th overall NCAA Tournament appearance – the 10th-most appearances in NCAA history - and is the 15th time the Huskers have made the postseason in the past 16 seasons.

The Big 12 postseason champion, Oklahoma enters the NCAA Championship at 43-10 on the year and with a ratings percentage index of seven. The Sooners finished second in the regular season standings and earned a No. 14 overall seed.

Oklahoma State received an at-large bid to the tournament for the second-straight season and the 17th time in school history after finishing the regular season with a 43-13 record.

The Texas Longhorns will be making their sixth-straight and 11th overall NCAA appearance when they host the Austin Regional. No. 7-seed UT was the Big 12 regular season champion with a conference record of 14-2 and an overall record of 42-13.

For the ninth consecutive year and 21st overall, the No. 19 Texas A&M softball team earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament as an at-large selection. The Aggies were the No. 3-seed in the Big 12 Championship, closing the regular season at 42-14.

Texas Tech (36-16) has earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Regionals after a 10-year absence from the event. The Red Raiders will travel to Palo Alto, Calif. to face

The Division I softball championship provides for a field of 64 teams. Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The regional winners advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 28-29 at eight campus sites. The remaining eight teams advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament.  The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted June 3-9 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

*Denotes host institution; (Overall Record)

Columbia Regional – May 21-23 at Columbia, Missouri
No. 9 seed Missouri* (46-11) vs. Creighton (37-21)
DePaul (38-16) vs. Illinois (43-6)

Seattle Regional – May 21-23 at Seattle, Washington
No. 3 seed Washington* (45-6) vs. North Dakota St. (33-23)
Nebraska (29-27) vs. North Carolina (40-18) - 4:30 p.m.

College Park Regional – May 21-23 at College Park, Maryland
Fordham (47-10) vs. Maryland* (33-22)
Syracuse (32-24) vs. No. 14 seed Oklahoma (43-10) - 4 p.m.

Tucson Regional – May 21-23 at Tucson, Arizona
Oklahoma St. (43-14) vs. Hofstra (43-10)
Cornell (37-13) vs. No. 10 seed Arizona* (43-11)

Austin Regional – May 20-22 at Austin, Texas
No. 7 seed Texas* (42-13) vs. Iona (28-24) - 7:30 p.m.
East Carolina (42-16) vs. BYU (43-11)

Baton Rouge Regional – May 21-23 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Texas A&M (42-14) vs. La.-Lafayette (42-16) - 3:30 p.m.
McNeese St. (38-25) vs. No. 12 seed LSU* (44-14)

Stanford Regional – May 21-23 at Stanford, California
Stanford* (36-17) vs. Texas Tech (36-16)
UC Davis (26-27) vs. No. 16 seed Hawaii (44-13)

< Softball
Popular on
Load More