Print RSS
Three Big 12 Soccer Squads Make the NCAA Field of 64
November 11, 2013

Oklahoma State, Texas Tech and West Virginia have been selected to participate in the 2013 NCAA Soccer Championship, the NCAA announced. All three teams will compete in opening round action starting on Friday, Nov. 15.

West Virginia (16-3-2, 7-1) claimed the Big 12 Championship title and the league’s automatic bid on Sunday with a 1-0 victory over Oklahoma State in the postseason event’s finale. The Mountaineers will host Rutgers (13-4-4) on Saturday, Nov. 16 at 7:00 p.m. ET. Over its last 11 contests, WVU has posted a 10-1 mark. Head Coach Nikki Izzo-Brown and the Mountaineers also claimed the regular season Big 12 Championship in addition to the postseason crown.

Texas Tech (17-2-2, 6-0-2) will be making its second-consecutive NCAA appearance when the Red Raiders play host to Minnesota (11-7-2) at John Walker Soccer Complex on Friday, Nov. 15, at 7:00 p.m. CT. Head coach Tom Stone’s squad went through conference play unbeaten with a record of 6-0-2.

Oklahoma State (9-6-6, 2-3-3) will participate in the NCAA Tournament for the seventh time in program history. Last week, the Cowgirls advanced to the 2013 Big 12 Championship final with a 1-0 win over Texas and a 1-0 victory over then-No. 11 Texas Tech. OSU fell in the championship match to West Virginia, 1-0. Coach Carmichael and the Cowgirls will face Arkansas in Stillwater on Friday, Nov. 15 at 7:00 p.m. CT.

First through third-round matches will be played between Friday, Nov. 15, and Sunday, Nov. 24, on campus sites. Quarterfinal matches will be played Nov. 29 through Dec. 1 and will also take place at campus sites. The 32nd annual Women’s College Cup is set for Dec. 6 and Dec. 8 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C.

Big 12 Teams in the NCAA Tournament
Friday, Nov. 15
Arkansas at Oklahoma State, 7:00 p.m. CT
Minnesota at Texas Tech, 7:00 p.m. CT

Saturday, Nov. 16
Rutgers at West Virginia, 7:00 p.m. ET
< Softball
Popular on
Load More