Print RSS
Big 12 Names Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
June 01, 2011
Twenty-four Big 12 student-athletes have been selected to receive 2010-11 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships, the conference office announced.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 273 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided $1,835,600 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999, increased to $6,900 for 2004-05 and climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution and completion of athletics’ eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.

Name School Sport
Tiffany Wesley Baylor Softball
Logan Roberts Baylor Track & Field/Cross Country
Max Van Dyke Colorado Track & Field
Vegard Kjoelhamar   Colorado Nordic Ski
Lauren Fader Iowa State Soccer
Alex Whitesell Iowa State Track & Field/Cross Country
Nicole Schneider Kansas Rowing
Jareb Stallbaumer Kansas Track & Field
Alecia Zimbelman Kansas State Equestrian
Jason Schulte Kansas State Golf
Katie Vanarsdall Missouri Track & Field
Brian Hancock Missouri Track & Field
Natalie Willer Nebraska Track & Field
Casey Hauptman Nebraska Baseball
Ellen Mueller Oklahoma Golf
Brian Lepak Oklahoma Football
Whitney Wernimont   Oklahoma State     Soccer
Anthony Hill Oklahoma State Football
Adrienne Woods Texas Swimming & Diving
Bryan Collins Texas Swimming & Diving
Elizabeth Solch Texas A&M Equestrian
Ryan Tannehill Texas A&M Football
Jessica Gibbs Texas Tech Track & Field
David Neill Texas Tech Football

< Conference
Popular on
Load More