Print RSS
Big 12 Lands 22 Athletes on Maxwell, Bednarik Watch Lists
July 09, 2012
Eleven Big 12 football players have been named to the 75th annual Maxwell Award watch list and 11 athletes were selected to the 18th annual Bednarik Award watch list.

Candidates on the Maxwell Award list include quarterbacks Collin Klein (Kansas State), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Casey Pachall (TCU), Seth Doege (Texas Tech) and Geno Smith (West Virginia), along with running backs Dominique Whaley (Oklahoma), Joseph Randle (Oklahoma State), Malcolm Brown (Texas) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia). Wide receivers Terrance Williams (Baylor) and Kenny Stills (Oklahoma) were also named to the list.

Since 1937, the Maxwell Award has been presented to America's outstanding collegiate football player and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. Watch list candidates are chosen on past performance and future potential by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee.

Texas led the conference by placing three players, defensive ends Jackson Jeffcoat and Alex Okafor, and safety Kenny Vaccaro, on the Bednarik Award watch list. Other Big 12 candidates include cornerbacks Nigel Malone (Kansas State), Demontre Hurst (Oklahoma) and Brodrick Brown (Oklahoma State), along with linebackers A.J. Klein and Jake Knott (Iowa State) and Arthur Brown (Kansas State). Defensive end Stansly Maponga (TCU) and safety Tony Jefferson (Oklahoma) are also candidates for the award, which has honored the nation's top defensive player since 1995.

Jones is a returning Maxwell Award semifinalist from 2011 while Brown is the lone Big 12 returning Bednarik Award semifinalist from last season.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29. The remaining three finalists for each award will be revealed November 19, with the winners announced on December 6. The formal presentation of these awards will be held March 1, 2013, at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala.

< Football
Popular on
Load More