Print RSS
Jim Thorpe Award Names Eight Big 12 Players to Watch List
July 12, 2013

Eight Big 12 defensive backs have been named to the 2013 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

Cornerbacks Carrington Byndom (Texas), Aaron Colvin (Oklahoma), Quandre Diggs (Texas) and Jason Verrett (TCU), and safeties Ahmad Dixon (Baylor), Sam Carter (TCU), Daytawion Lowe (Oklahoma State) and Ty Zimmerman (Kansas State) have been selected among the 48 athletes on the watch list for the honor, presented to the nation’s top defensive back.

The award was established in 1986 and is named after Jim Thorpe. The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is determined by analysis of the preseason All-America teams listed in at least six preseason college football annual magazines. The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

Semifinalists and finalists for the Thorpe Award will be announced in November. The winner from the three finalists will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12 on ESPN.

< Football
Popular on
Load More