Print RSS
Petty Named Manning Award Finalist
November 26, 2013

Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced on Tuesday.

This season, Petty has helped Baylor to a 9-1 start by throwing for 3,351 yards and 26 touchdowns, while completing 64.1 percent of his passes. In his first year as a starter, Petty has only one interception and boasts the second-best passing efficiency rating in the country at 194.05. 

He has directed the nation’s top offense as the Bears are averaging a FBS-best 661.6 yards per game and scoring 56.8 points per contest. Individually, Petty is first nationally in yards per completion (18.62), fourth in points responsible for per game (21.6), fifth in passing yards per game (335.1) and fifth in total offense (352.4).

Petty leads the Big 12 in passing touchdowns (26) and 300-yard passing games (9). He has also run for 10 touchdowns this season, while racking up 173 yards on 64 carries.

The junior from Midlothian, Texas, was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award earlier this year. 

Petty graduated in May 2013 with a degree in health science studies and is currently enrolled in graduate school classes.

Baylor last had a Manning Award finalist in 2011 when Robert Griffin III won the award.

The Manning Award is the only college football quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting; therefore, it is presented annually following the completion of the bowl season. The winner is selected by a panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Manning’s.
< Football
Popular on
Load More