Print RSS
Nagurski, Outland Watch Lists Feature 22 Big 12 Student-Athletes
July 11, 2013
Twelve Big 12 defensive football players have been named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy while 10 interior lineman have been listed on the 2013 Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given annually to the most outstanding defensive player in college football. The award, now in its 21st season, is named after John Outland, one of the few collegiate football players to earn All-America status at two different positions. This year’s Big 12 candidates are Bryce Hager (Baylor), Ty Zimmerman (K-State), Aaron Colvin (Oklahoma), Calvin Barnett (Oklahoma State), Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State), Shaun Lewis (Oklahoma State), Devonte Fields (TCU), Jason Verrett (TCU), Quandre Diggs (Texas), Jordan Hicks (Texas), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas) and Kerry Hyder (Texas Tech).

This year’s Nagurski Trophy will be presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America on Dec. 3 in Charlotte, N.C.

Dating back to 1946, The Outland Trophy is awarded each season to the nation’s top interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America.

Representing the Big 12 on this year’s Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List are Cyril Richardson (Baylor), BJ Finney (K-State), Cornelius Lucas (K-State), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Calvin Barnett (Oklahoma State), Chucky Hunter (TCU), Trey Hopkins (Texas), Mason Walters (Texas), Le’Raven Clark (Texas Tech) and Kerry Hyder (Texas Tech).

The 2013 Outland Trophy winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 12.
Past Big 12 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Recipients
2009    Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
2008    Brian Orakpo, Texas
2004    Derrick Johnson, Texas
2003    Derrick Strait, Oklahoma
2001    Roy Williams, Oklahoma

Past Big 12 Outland Trophy Recipients
2009    Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
2004    Jammal Brown, Oklahoma
1997    Aaron Taylor,  Nebraska

< Football
Popular on
Load More