Print RSS
Walter Camp Watch List Features Five Big 12 Student-Athletes
July 19, 2013
Five student-athletes from Big 12 institutions have been named to the preseason watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Since its inception in 1967, the award has been known as one of the most prestigious awards in collegiate football and is given annually to the player of the year. A Big 12 student-athlete has won the award five times since 1996. The most recent Big 12 honoree was Colt McCoy (Texas) in 2009.

This year’s Big 12 nominees are Lache Seastrunk (Baylor), John Hubert (K-State), Casey Pachall (TCU), Jason Verrett (TCU) and Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas).

The accolade is named after Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football.” Camp developed and implemented many aspects of modern football including the development of play from scrimmage, the restriction of play to 11 men on the field per team and the selection of an All-America team.

The current watch list features 50 players from 37 schools. Semi-finalists will be announced in November and the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on December 12. The award is voted on by 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

Past Big 12 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Recipients
2009    Colt McCoy (Texas)
2008    Colt McCoy (Texas)
2001    Eric Crouch (Nebraska)
2000    Josh Heupel (Oklahoma)
1998    Ricky Williams (Texas)
< Football
Popular on
Load More