Print RSS
Three Earn Spot on Hendricks Award Watch List
August 05, 2013

The Ted Hendricks Foundation has selected three Big 12 defensive ends to its 2013 Preseason Watch List.

Devonte Fields (TCU), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas), and Kerry Hyder (Texas Tech) are among the 22 candidates under consideration for the 12th annual Hendricks Award.

Former Longhorn Brian Orakpo captured the award in 2008.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and

community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the award’s voting committee. Candidates may represent any class as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate’s primary position must be Defensive End.

The Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American. Hendricks, a defensive end at the University of Miami, went on to play professionally, and boasts four Super Bowl victories and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Hendricks’ aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football’s premier defensive end is presented.

The 2013 winner will be announced on December 11.

< Football
Popular on
Load More