Print RSS
Big 12 Quarterbacks Named Award Finalists
November 14, 2012

Collin Klein (Kansas State) and Geno Smith (West Virginia) have been selected as finalists for the 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

Klein was also selected as one of 15 "players to watch" for the 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

The list of five finalists for the Golden Arm Award was narrowed from an original field on 29 of the country's top college quarterbacks. Candidates must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

Smith has thrown for 10,498 yards and 87 touchdowns during his career as a Mountaineer. Through last week's games, Smith had a 159.2 QB rating with 3,041 yards, 31 TDs, and a 71.3 completion percentage.

Klein, a former wide receiver who often functions as a tailback in the Wildcat's zone-read offense, leads the nation in pass efficiency. Through 10 games this season, he has 12 touchdowns and 145 completions in 208 attempts for a 167.4 QB rating.

Other finalists for the Golden Arm Award include Matt Barkley (USC), E.J. Manuel (Florida State) and A.J. McCarron (Alabama).

The 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented on Friday, December 7 at The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland.

< Football
Popular on
Load More