Print RSS
Big 12 Football Regular Season Ends with Championship Saturday
December 03, 2013

Current FB Notes in PDF

The Big 12 champion will be decided on “Championship Saturday” with two Top 25 matchups when No. 6 Oklahoma State hosts No. 17 Oklahoma and No. 25 Texas travels to No. 9 Baylor. If more than one team ties for the top spot, those teams will share the championship and the Big 12 tiebreaker procedure will be used to determine the Conference’s representative in the BCS.

In each season since round robin play began, the Big 12 champion was determined in the last week of the season. In 2011, No. 3 Oklahoma State, No. 10 Oklahoma and No. 11 K-State were in the running for a share of the title. No. 3 OSU beat No. 10 OU in the final game of the day to win the championship outright. Last year, No. 6 K-State and No. 11 Oklahoma entered Championship Saturday tied for the Big 12 lead. No. 11 OU won on the road at TCU while No. 6 K-State beat No. 18 Texas at home later in the day to end the season as co-champs.

Big 12 teams have used 19 different starters at quarterback with six of those freshmen. Only two teams (Baylor and K-State) have used the same starter throughout the season.

Just three Big 12 teams – Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas – have a senior starter at quarterback.

The Big 12 is one of three FBS leagues, and the only among the power conferences, in which every team has at least one win in conference play.

Sixty percent of Big 12 teams are bowl-eligible: Baylor, K-State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas Tech.

All-Big 12 postseason awards will be announced Wednesday, Dec. 11, beginning at 11 a.m. CT on

Since 2011, seven lower-ranked teams have defeated a higher-ranked Big 12 opponent. On 16 occasions, a ranked team has fallen to an unranked league foe, including four times this season.


< Football
Popular on
Load More