Print RSS
Oklahoma State’s Smith Garners Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year Award
April 10, 2013

John Smith (Oklahoma State) has been named the Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year by a vote of the league’s coaches. Smith led the Cowboys to both the regular season and Big 12 Championship title. The honor marks the tenth time Smith has won the award.

In his 22nd year at OSU, Smith lead the Cowboys to a 20-1 overall record and a perfect 6-0 mark in conference competition. The Cowboys produced a runner-up finish at the 2013 NCAA Championships. He was named the Division I Coach of the Year by Amateur Wrestling News and claimed InterMat Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his career.

With Smith leading the way during the 2013 postseason, eight Cowboy wrestlers were crowned Big 12 champions, seven were named All-Americans and two finished as national champions.

Overall, Smith has coached 26 national champions, 102 All-Americans and 82 conference champions. He has lead the program to five NCAA team championships, 14 conference team championships and two regular season conference titles.

Big 12 Coach of the Year
1997 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
1998 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
1999 -- Jack Spates, Oklahoma
           Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2000 -- Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2001 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2002 -- Jake Spates, Oklahoma
2003 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2004 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2005 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2006 -- Jack Spates, Oklahoma
            John Smith, Oklahoma State
2007 -- Cael Sanderson, Iowa State
2008 -- Mark Manning, Nebraska
2009 --  Mark Manning, Nebraska
2010 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2011 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2012 -- Brian Smith, Missouri
2013 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State

< Football
Popular on
Load More