Print RSS
Richardson Claims Jim Parker Award
December 11, 2013

Baylor football senior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson earned the 2013 Jim Parker Award, the Touchdown Club of Columbus announced on Wednesday.

The award, named for the late Ohio State football legend and Pro Football Hall of Famer Jim Parker, is presented annually to college football's top offensive lineman.

Richardson is the first Baylor player to win the award and the fifth player from the Big 12 Conference. 

This season, Richardson helped Baylor to its first-ever Big 12 championship and a school record 11 wins. Richardson is the leader for an offensive line that blocks for America’s top offense. The Bears lead the nation in scoring (53.3) and total offense (624.5). Richardson has also registered a team-leading 83 knockdowns on the year.

With his help the Baylor rushing attack leads the Big 12 with 265.2 yards per game. Richardson was a key blocker for junior running back Lache Seastrunk, who became the first player in school history to record back-to-back 1,000-yard rushing seasons.

Richardson has also aided in keeping quarterback Bryce Petty protected in 2013. The Bears have surrendered only 20 sacks on the year. With protection Petty has gone on to earn Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors from the Associated Press and the league’s coaches, while throwing for 320.3 yards per game and 30 touchdowns.

Richardson was recognized as an All-Big 12 first-team player by the Associated Press and the league’s coaches. The Big 12 Conference coaches also honored him as the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year for a second straight season as well. He is a finalist for the Outland Trophy, which will announce its winner on Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards in Orlando, Fla.

< Football
Popular on
Load More