Print RSS
Oklahoma State's Smith Named Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year
March 26, 2014

Oklahoma State wrestling coach John Smith has been named the Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year by a vote of the league's head coaches. Smith led the Cowboys to their second-consecutive Big 12 Championship title and a third-place finish at the NCAA Wrestling Championships. This marks the 11th time Smith has been honored with the award.

The Cowboys went 11-5 this season, including a perfect 3-0 record against conference opponents. Oklahoma State claimed six individual Big 12 Championship titles and qualified all 10 starters for the NCAA Championships. OSU’s third-place finish at the national event marked its second-straight year to finish in the top three and record at least five All-Americans.

In his 23 years in Stillwater, Smith has coached 28 national champions, 107 All-Americans and 88 conference champions. Under his direction OSU has racked up five NCAA team championships, 15 conference team championships and the league's regular season conference title twice en-route to a 357-52-6 overall record.

Big 12 Coach of the Year
1997 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
1998 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
1999 -- Jack Spates, Oklahoma
              Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2000 -- Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2001 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2002 -- Jake Spates, Oklahoma
2003 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2004 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2005 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2006 -- Jack Spates, Oklahoma
              John Smith, Oklahoma State
2007 -- Cael Sanderson, Iowa State
2008 -- Mark Manning, Nebraska
2009 --  Mark Manning, Nebraska
2010 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2011 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2012 -- Brian Smith, Missouri
2013 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State
2014 -- John Smith, Oklahoma State

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More