Print RSS
Cowboys Claim Second Consecutive Big 12 Title
March 08, 2014


NORMAN, Okla. – For the third time in four years, the Oklahoma State Cowboys were crowned the wrestling champions of the Big 12 Conference. The Cowboys claimed their 11th team title since the inception of the league prior to the 1997 season.

OSU sent nine student-athletes to the finals while the host Sooners entered the championship round with six participants still alive. Heading into the final round of action, the Cowboys held a 19 point lead over OU. Iowa State sent four wrestlers to the finals while West Virginia’s A.J. Vizcarrondo represented the Mountaineers.

The night's finals kicked off with Jarrod Patterson of Oklahoma defeating Eddie Klimara (OSU), 4-3. Kendric Maple (149) picked up the Sooners' second title of the night defeating Josh Kindig of Oklahoma State, 6-3.

Jon Morrison (133) tallied the Cowboys first title of the night, besting the Sooners' Cody Brewer, 8-1. Anthony Collica (141) took the crown after beating Iowa State's Gabe Moreno 4-2. The Cowboys picked up two more victories from Alex Dieringer (157) and Tyler Caldwell (165).

In two of the most anticipated matches of the night, the Cowboys picked up their final two wins. In the heavyweight finals, Austin Marsden defeated West Virginia's A.J. Vizcarrondo, 5-2. In the night's final match, Bedlam rivals Andrew Howe (OU) and Chris Perry (OSU) battled it out for the 174 weight class title. After a back and forth match, Perry took the crown, 3-2.

Iowa State's two titles of the event came back-to-back when Lelund Weatherspoon (184) and Kyven Gadson (197) bested Nolan Boyd 4-3 and Travis Rutt 3-3, respectively.

The Cowboys' Chris Perry took home Outstanding Wrestler of the Meet honors with his win over Andrew Howe of Oklahoma in the championship final of the 174 pound weight class.

Next up for the league’s wrestlers is the NCAA Championship in Oklahoma City at the COX Convention Center on March 20.
125 Pounds: No. 1 Jarrod Patterson (OU) dec. No. 2 Eddie Klimara (OSU), 4-3
133 Pounds: No. 1 Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. No. 2 Cody Brewer (OU), 8-1          
141 Pounds: No. 2 Anthony Collica (OSU) dec. No. 4 Gabe Moreno (ISU), 4-2
149 Pounds: No. 1 Kendric Maple (OU) dec. No. 2 Josh Kindig (OSU), 6-3
157 Pounds: No. 1 Alex Dieringer (OSU) dec. No. 2 Justin DeAngelis (OU), 8-3
165 Pounds: No. 1 Tyler Caldwell (OSU) maj. dec. No. 2 Michael Moreno (ISU), 12-1
174 Pounds: No. 2 Chris Perry (OSU) dec. No. 1 Andrew Howe (OU), 3-2
184 Pounds:  No. 3 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. No. 1 Nolan Boyd (OSU), 4-3
197 Pounds: No. 1 Kyven Gadson (ISU) dec. No. 2 Travis Rutt (OU), 4-3 TB2
Heavyweight: No. 1 Austin Marsden (OSU) dec. No. 2 A.J. Vizcarrondo (WVU), 5-2.

1. Oklahoma State - 98.5
2. Oklahoma - 63.5
3. Iowa State - 45.5
4. West Virginia - 26
2014 Most Outstanding Wrestler: Chris Perry, Oklahoma State, 174 lbs
Championship Attendance: 2,008

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More