Print RSS
Oklahoma State Wins Regular Season Wrestling Title
March 09, 2013

The Oklahoma State Cowboys secured their second-straight Big 12 wrestling regular season championship on Friday night with wins over Iowa State, West Virginia and Oklahoma in the regular season finale at Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater.

For the second consecutive year, the league's four wrestling squads played a six-match, double round-robin Conference schedule to determine a regular season champion.

With the win, the Cowboys finish the season with a 20-1 record and a 6-0 mark in Big 12 play.

OSU started the day with decisive victories over West Virginia and Iowa State, winning 57-0 and 28-6, respectively. The No. 2-ranked Cowboys came back later in the day to defeat the Sooners 40-3 in the Bedlam match, securing the regular season title.

The championship action starts with semifinal bouts on two mats beginning at 5 p.m. Saturday. The championship and third-place bouts will take place simultaneously on two mats starting at approximately 7 p.m.

All Saturday matches will be streamed live on at no charge.

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More