Print RSS
2013 Big 12 Women’s Golf Postseason Awards Announced
May 01, 2013

With the 2012-13 women’s golf regular season wrapped up, the sport’s postseason award winners have been determined.

For the second-consecutive year, Oklahoma State’s Kelsey Vines garnered Player of the Year honors, closing out the year ranked third nationally after finishing in a tie for fifth at the Big 12 Championship. The senior led the Cowgirls with a team best 72.82 scoring average in seven events this season. Vines recorded an individual title at the Hurricane Invitational in February, marking her third tournament victory at Oklahoma State.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Baylor’s Lauren Taylor, who captured the individual title by eight shots at the Big 12 Championship and led the Bears to a second-place finish. Taylor became just the second freshman in league history to win the individual crown.
The Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest ranked individual’s from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the league championship.

Oklahoma State head coach Alan Bratton garnered his first Coach of the Year accolade, as voted on by the league’s coaches. Bratton guided the Cowgirls to their eighth Big 12 Championship and first since 2009, as four OSU golfers finished in the top 10 at this year’s event. Oklahoma State, ranked 16th, will compete at NCAA Regionals for the 21st consecutive year as they are the No. 6 seed in the East Region, held in Auburn, Ala.

Texas Tech’s Kim Kaufman claimed the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, an honor voted on by the league’s coaches. The senior  political science major earned a 4.0 cumulative grade point average and played in each of the Lady Raiders’ tournaments this season. Kaufman led the team with a 74.00 scoring average and capped off her season with a 20th-place finish at the Big 12 Championship.

A total of five institutions placed student-athletes on the All-Big 12 Team. Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas Tech each had golfers named to the team. The Lady Bears were represented by Hayley Davis and Lauren Taylor, while Oklahoma’s Chirapat Jao-Javanl, AC Tanguay and Emily Collins each made the list as well. Julie Yang joined Vines as Oklahoma State’s honorees, while Desiree Dubreuil and Katelyn Sepmoree were Texas’ representatives. Texas Tech’s Kaufman rounded out the list of honorees.

The team was identified using the top 10 highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship.

All-Big 12 Team
Hayley Davis, Baylor
Lauren Taylor, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
AC Tanguay, Oklahoma
Emily Collins, Oklahoma
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Julie Yang, Oklahoma State
Desiree Dubreuil, Texas
Katelyn Sepmoree, Texas
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Player of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Taylor, Baylor

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kim Kaufman, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year
Alan Bratton, Oklahoma State

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More