Print RSS
Aggies Victorious Over Texas Tech
May 23, 2009
OKLAHOMA CITY No. 6 seed Texas A&M defeated seventh-seeded Texas Tech 11-4 Saturday at AT&T Bricktown Ballpark in the final pool play game at the 2009 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship.

Texas A&M’s win improved its pool play record to 2-1, while Texas Tech’s record fell to 1-2 with the loss.

The win also finalized the pairing for Sunday’s Big 12 Championship game, where top seed Texas will face third-seeded Missouri at 1 p.m.

Ross Hales (6-2) earned the win for the Aggies with five strikeouts over 5.1 innings, while Kyle Thebeau earned his second save of the year with 3.2 innings of work. Texas Tech starter Miles Morgan took the loss to move to 2-6.

Brodie Greene was TAMU’s top offensive producer, going 3-for-4 with one RBI and three runs scored. Fellow Aggie Luke Anders was also 3-for-5 with a pair of runs and a pair of RBI, and Brooks Raley chipped in a 2-for-5 night with two runs scored and three RBI.

The Aggies scored first in the top of the first inning when three-hole batter Luke Anders sent the first pitch he saw over the right field wall, giving the A&M a 1-0 lead. The lead grew to 5-1 after the top of the second, when they added four runs on four hits.

Texas Tech answered in the bottom of the inning, scoring its first two runs of the game with a pair of hits and a passed ball.

In the third inning, the Aggies again scored four runs on four hits and just missed scoring more as they left the bases loaded. Texas Tech responded with a run in the bottom of the third when first baseman Chris Richburg sent a towering shot to left center for a solo homerun, cutting the Aggie lead to 9-3.

Each team added a run in the fourth inning, as Texas A&M’s Greene scored on a throwing error by the second baseman. Texas Tech’s Garrett Totten, who tripled to left center, was batted in by catcher Jeremy Mayo.

Texas A&M tacked on another run in the top of the sixth to up its lead to 11-4, which was ultimately the final tally.

The 2009 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship title game is slated for Sunday at 1 p.m. at AT&T Bricktown Ballpark.

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More