Print RSS
Wiggins Named Semifinalist for Naismith Trophy
February 28, 2014

Kansas freshman Andrew Wiggins has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Men’s Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced.

Four finalists for the Naismith Trophy will be announced March 23.  On Thursday, Feb. 27, Wiggins was also selected as one of 15 finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, which is the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s (USBWA) National Player of the Year award.

Wiggins leads Kansas with a 16.3-point scoring average, the best among Big 12 freshmen and ninth overall in the conference.  He has also recorded 5.8 rebounds per game, which ranks third on the team and 18th in the Conference.  He is a two-time Big 12 Newcomer of the Week.

Three players in Big 12 history have won the Naismith Award – Blake Griffin of Oklahoma (2008-09) and Kevin Durant (2006-07) and T.J. Ford (2002-03) from Texas.

< Gymnastics
Popular on
Load More