Print RSS
Pairings Set for 2014 Big 12 Tennis Championships
April 21, 2014

2014 Big 12 Men's and Women's Tennis Brackets

The Big 12 Conference has announced the women's pairings for the 2014 Big 12 Tennis Championships held at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center in Fort Worth, Texas. Women's action gets underway on Thursday, April 24 while men's action begins on Friday, April 25.

On the women's side Baylor capped off a perfect 9-0 record in conference play with a win over Texas on Friday night in Austin to secure the top seed. BU has now won 10 Big 12 regular season titles including eight in the last nine years.

The Oklahoma State Cowgirls earned the No. 2 seed after completing conference play at 7-2. OSU closed the regular season with a narrow 3-4 loss to Oklahoma on April 19. The Cowgirls only other conference loss came to Baylor on April 11.

Oklahoma, Texas and Texas Tech finished in a three-way tie for third as each team finished conference play with a record of 6-3. Texas earned the three seed based on point totals among the three teams.

The Lady Raiders earned the No. 4 spot while the Sooners took the fifth seed.

Host TCU holds the No. 6 seed while Kansas State, Kansas, Iowa State and West Virginia are seeded seven through 10 respectively.

Previous title winners at the women’s championship include Texas, which has notched nine postseason titles (1997-2002, 2005, 2012-2013), while Baylor has won six (2006-’11) and Oklahoma State has one (2003).

Baylor, Oklahoma and Texas each finished conference play at 4-1 on the men's side, marking the first time in the history of the league there has been tri-champions.

The Bears earned the No. 1 seed based on conference tiebreaker procedures. Baylor upended the seventh-ranked Texas Longhorns on Wednesday to finish the regular season at 21-6. The Bears have won 13 of their last 14 matches.

Texas claimed the No. 2 seed. The Longhorns finished the season 20-4 after a 5-1 victory over Texas Tech on Saturday. The 'Horns have won or shared seven Big 12 regular season titles.

The second-ranked Oklahoma Sooners will be the No. 3 seed. Oklahoma finished the season with only two losses at 21-2. OU bested Oklahoma State 7-0 on Sunday to finish conference play.

Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas Tech all finished conference play with identical 1-4 records. The Red Raiders claimed the No. 4 seed. TTU currently sits at No. 27 nationally.

Oklahoma State is the No. 5 seed and host TCU will compete at the No. 6 spot.

The Baylor men will be looking for their eighth postseason Big 12 title after winning from 2002-’05 and 2007-’09. Texas has earned five championship titles (1997, ‘99, ‘06, ‘10, '13), while Oklahoma earned its first postseason crown two seasons ago (2012).

The winners of the Big 12 postseason events will punch an automatic ticket to the NCAA Championships in May.

1. Baylor
2. Oklahoma State
3. Texas
4. Texas Tech
5. Oklahoma
6. TCU
7. Kansas State
8. Kansas
9. Iowa State
10. West Virginia

1. Baylor
2. Texas
3. Oklahoma
4. Texas Tech
5. Oklahoma State
6. TCU

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More