Print RSS
Men's Tennis Pairings for Big 12 Championships Announced
April 21, 2014

The Big 12 Conference has announced the men's pairings for the 2014 Big 12 Tennis Championships held at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center in Fort Worth, Texas. Men's action gets underway on Friday, April 25.

Baylor, Oklahoma and Texas each finished conference play at 4-1, marking the first time in the history of the league there has been tri-champions.

The Bears earned the No. 1 seed based on conference tiebreaker procedures. Baylor upended the seventh-ranked Texas Longhorns on Wednesday to finish the regular season at 21-6. The Bears have won 13 of their last 14 matches.

Texas claimed the No. 2 seed. The Longhorns finished the season 20-4 after a 5-1 victory over Texas Tech on Saturday. The 'Horns have won or shared seven Big 12 regular season titles.

The second-ranked Oklahoma Sooners will be the No. 3 seed. Oklahoma finished the season with only two losses at 21-2. OU bested Oklahoma State 7-0 on Sunday to finish conference play.

Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas Tech all finished conference play with identical 1-4 records. The Red Raiders claimed the No. 4 seed. TTU currently sits at No. 27 nationally.

Oklahoma State is the No. 5 seed and host TCU will compete at the No. 6 spot.

The Baylor men will be looking for their eighth postseason Big 12 title after winning from 2002-’05 and 2007-’09. Texas has earned five championship titles (1997, ‘99, ‘06, ‘10, '13), while Oklahoma earned its first postseason crown two seasons ago (2012).

Match times will be announced on Monday, April 21, on The winner of the Big 12 postseason event will punch an automatic ticket to the NCAA Championships in May.

1. Baylor
2. Texas
3. Oklahoma
4. Texas Tech
5. Oklahoma State
6. TCU
< Tennis
Popular on
Load More