Print RSS
Bears Sweep 2014 Big 12 Tennis Championships
April 27, 2014

Men's Video Recap | Women's Video Recap

FORT WORTH, Texas – For the fourth time in school history, the Baylor Bears claimed crowns in both men’s and women’s tennis at the Big 12 Championships. The Bears won their conference titles in front of 512 fans at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center on the campus of TCU. The Lady Bears have now won seven postseason titles while the men have claimed eight titles. The three other dual Baylor titles occurred in 2007, ’08 and ’09.

On the women’s side, top-seeded Baylor claimed the 4-1 victory over the second-seeded Oklahoma State Cowgirls. In doubles, the Lady Bears took victories at No. 1 and No. 3 to take the first point. The Bears opened singles play with a win at No. 6 to take a 2-0 lead. The Cowgirls picked up their lone point at No. 5 when Carla Tur Mai took down Baylor’s Alex Leatu, 6-1, 6-4. Baylor answered with wins at No. 2 and No. 4 to clinch the win and the title.

Blair Shankle picked up the final point for BU when she topped Katarina Adamovic, 6-2, 7-6. Baylor’s Ema Burgic picked up Most Outstanding Performer honors for her championship performance.

In men’s action, Oklahoma claimed the first doubles match on court No. 2 when Axel Alvarez Llamas and Guillermo Alcorta bested Julian Lenz and Michel Dornbusch of Baylor, 8-6. Baylor struck back with wins at No. 1 and No. 3 to claim the point.

Oklahoma took the first singles point on court No. 4 knotting the score at 1-1. The Sooners then took the lead when Alcorta topped Baylor’s Lenz, 6-1, 6-2. Oklahoma’s Alex Ghilea would pick up the Sooners final point of the match at No. 6.

Baylor’s Dornbusch started the hot streak for the Bears when he topped Austin Siegel, 6-4, 1-6, 6-2. Diego Galeano followed up Dornbusch’s point with a victory at No. 3, tying the score at 3-3.

In one of the most highly contested matches in Big 12 Championship history, Baylor’s Patrick Pradella took down No. 6 Axel Alvarez Llamas in three sets, 6-7, 6-3, 6-4. The final set saw nine match points for Pradella. For his match-clinching heroics, Pradella was named the MOP on the men’s side.

Both Baylor programs earn automatic berths to the NCAA Team Championships. Big 12 teams will wait for the NCAA Championship brackets to be released on Tuesday, April 29.

2014 Big 12 Men’s Tennis Championship
No. 1 Baylor def. No. 3 Oklahoma, 4-3
Most Outstanding Player: Patrick Pradella, Baylor, Sr.

2014 Big 12 Women’s Tennis Championship
No. 1 Baylor def. No. 2 Oklahoma State, 4-1
Most Outstanding Player: Ema Burgic, Baylor, Jr.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More