Print RSS
Ten Big 12 Squads Selected to NCAA Tennis Championship Field
May 08, 2014

Ten Big 12 Conference tennis squads have been selected to compete in the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships. Five women’s teams earned spots in the 64-team field while five men’s teams punched tickets. This marks the third year in a row at least 10 teams have advanced to the postseason.

NCAA first and second round action will take place from May 9-12 at various campus locations. Each bracket contains 16 host sites, in which four teams will square off in a single elimination format for the right to advance to the Round of 16. The final 16 teams in the men’s and women’s brackets will go head-to-head at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga., from May 15-20.

After claiming the Big 12 Championship title and a share of the regular season crown, the Baylor Bears (23-5) will host first and second round action on the men's side. This Bears will open their 17th consecutive NCAA appearance against Texas A&M Corpus Christi on May 10 in Waco.

Oklahoma's men squad (23-3) was also selected to host an opening round in Norman. The Sooners made an appearance in their fourth-consecutive Big 12 title match and claimed a share of the league's regular season title. OU will host Montana on May 10 to open tournament.

Texas (20-5) will be appearing in its 23rd consecutive NCAA Championship when it hosts Marist on May 9 in Austin. The 'Horns claimed a share of the Big 12 regular season title and boast a record of 14-1 all-time in the opening round of the championship.

Oklahoma State (21-7) heads to the NCAA Championship coming off an appearance in the Big 12 Championship semifinals. Advancing to the postseason for the first time since 2009, the Cowboys will meet Michigan in Los Angeles on May 10.

Texas Tech (13-10) will be appearing in the NCAA Championship after a one-year hiatus. The Red Raiders have made the event eight of the last 10 years. TTU will travel to College Station, Texas to face California on May 10.

On the women's side, Baylor (24-6) will play host to first and second round competition. The Lady Bears claimed sole possesion of the Big 12 regular season title with a 9-0 record in league play and defeated the Oklahoma State Cowgirls last Sunday to win the postseason championship. BU will host Texas A&M Corpus Christi to open championship play on May 9.

Fresh off their appearance in the Big 12 Championship finals, the Cowgirls of Oklahoma State (15-8) will travel to Gainesville, Florida to play South Florida. OSU has now made three-straight NCAA tournament appearances for the first time in over 20 years.

Texas (12-12) will travel to College Station to take on Houston on May 9. The two-time NCAA champion Longhorns are appearing in their 32nd consecutive NCAA tournament.

The Texas Tech Lady Raiders (17-8) wrapped up their third-straight NCAA Championship appearance with an upset victory over No. 18 Oklahoma in the Big 12 Championship quarterfinals. The Lady Raiders are 10-8 against ranked teams this season and will face Ole Miss on May 9 in Los Angeles.

Oklahoma (16-6) will travel to Miami to face Wichita State on May 9. The selection marks the ninth time in program history and fourth time under Mullins OU has qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Every match of the 2014 championships will be a regulation dual match with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

NCAA singles and doubles championships will take place May 21-26. Selections for those tournaments will be announced on Wednesday, April 30.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More