Big 12 Women's Tennis Championship Seeds Finalized
          Release: 04/23/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS


The Big 12 Conference has unveiled the pairings for the 2012 Big 12 Women's Tennis Championship to be held Thursday-Sunday, April 26-29, at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas.

Following its first Big 12 regular-season championship, Texas Tech (18-4, 8-1) will be the No. 1 seed at the event. Behind, the Lady Raiders is defending champion Baylor (22-6, 7-2). The Lady Bears tied with Texas and Texas A&M for the second-best league mark, but BU garnered the higher seed based on its score differential among the three tied teams.

Host institution Texas A&M (16-4, 7-2) will be the No. 3 seed, after the Aggies beat UT in head-to-head competition, 4-3. The Longhorns (14-7, 7-2), who have been a top-three seed at the championship for the past 15 seasons, will be the No. 4 seed in 2012.

Oklahoma State (11-8, 5-4), which upset Texas in its final regular season match, nabs the No. 5 seed and sixth-seeded Kansas State (8-13, 4-5) rounds out the teams that will receive a first-round bye.

In first day action, No. 7 seed Oklahoma (10-12, 4-5) will face 10th-seeded Kansas (9-12, 0-9), while Missouri (10-11, 2-7) and Iowa State (4-17, 1-7) will tangle in the No. 8 vs. No. 9 matchup.

On the second day, Texas Tech will face the winner of the MU-ISU battle, while Texas and Oklahoma State will play each other for a second straight match. Baylor gets the victor of the OU-KU match and Texas A&M will tussle with K-State in the final quarterfinal contest.

Previous title winners at the event include Texas, which has notched seven postseason titles (1997-2002, 2005), while Baylor has won six (2006-'11) and Oklahoma State (2003) and Texas A&M (2004) each have one apiece.

The last team standing on Sunday will earn an automatic berth in the NCAA Championships with first and second rounds taking place May 11-13 at various campus locations.

2012 Big 12 Women's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Texas Tech
2. Baylor
3. Texas A&M
4. Texas
5. Oklahoma State
6. Kansas State
7. Oklahoma
8. Missouri
9. Iowa State
10. Kansas

< Back to Tennis