Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Tennis Teams Announced
April 24, 2012
The Big 12 Conference has named 49 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Tennis Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, three represented with a 4.00 GPA - Vlad Bondarenko (Oklahoma State), Trevor Horstmann (Oklahoma State) and Jamie Mera (Missouri).

On the women's side, Iowa State led all teams with five honorees, while Oklahoma State also tallied five members to lead on the men's side.

The Academic All-Big 12 Tennis Team includes 34 (15 men, 19 women) first team honorees and 15 (six men, nine women) second team members. A total of 28 women (19 first team, nine second team) earned honors, while 21 men (15 first team, six second team) garnered accolades.

Seven women's recipients became three-time first team members - Iowa State's Marie-Christine Chartier, Tessa Lan and Maria Mecaedo; Kansas State's Petra Chuda; Missouri's Jamie Mera; Oklahoma's Marie-Pier Huet; and Texas A&M's Sheri Olivier.

For the men, Julian Bley (Baylor) becomes a three-time first team honoree, while Raony Carvalho (Texas Tech) has also earned this third distinction (first team - 2010, ‘11; second team - 2012). Chris Camillone (Texas), Niall Angus (Texas A&M), Rafael Garcia (Texas Tech) and Vitor Manzini (Texas Tech) have claimed first team distinctions the past two years.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Tennis
Popular on
Load More