Print RSS
2013 All-Big 12 Tennis Teams and Awards Announced
May 08, 2013

The Big 12 Conference has announced its 2013 All-Big 12 tennis teams and postseason awards as selected by the league’s head coaches.

On the men’s side, Big 12 postseason champion Oklahoma nabbed three of five yearly awards, including head coach John Roddick securing Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Sooner senior Costin Paval was named Player of the Year for the second year in a row while Axel Alvarez Llamas was named Co-Freshman of the Year with Baylor’s Julian Lenz. BU’s Patrick Pradella took home Newcomer of the Year while Texas Tech’s Raphael Pfister was named the inaugural Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Roddick guided the Sooners to a 4-1 mark in Conference play and a second consecutive tournament crown. He became the first coach to win back-to-back Coach of the Year accolades since Baylor’s Matt Knoll (2002-2004), and is the only coach from Oklahoma to win the honor in Big 12 history. OU is currently ranked 14th in the nation and will be hosting NCAA First and Second Round action at Headington Family Tennis Center.

Paval, like Roddick, is the only Sooner to have won the honor in his category. The 19th-ranked Paval holds a 17-4 overall record for the year. The Bucharest, Romania-native went undefeated in regular season Big 12 play at the No. 1 singles spot and was named the individual conference champion at that position.

Llamas, in his first season with the Sooners, has played at both the No. 3 and No. 4 spots and is ranked No. 74 in doubles with partner Guillermo Alcorta. With a 4-1 conference record at the No. 4 spot, Llamas nabbed an individual regular season conference crown.

Baylor’s Julian Lenz also had a stellar freshman campaign, amassing a 26-9 record and a current rank of No. 51 in the ITA listings. He was selected with teammate Pradella to represent the Bears at the individual NCAA Championship. Pradella, a junior transfer from Bielefeld University, finished the regular season ranked No. 30 in the ITA rankings after posting a 20-4 record playing predominantly in the No. 1 spot.

Texas Tech senior Pfister is majoring in Finance and currently owns a 3.87 cumulative GPA while playing at the No. 3 and 4 singles positions.

On the women’s side, regular season co-champion Baylor led the pack, winning two yearly awards. BU head coach Joey Scrivano took home his fourth Coach of the Year accolade while sophomore Ema Burgic was named Player of the Year. Texas’ Breaunna Addison was unanimously named Freshman of the Year while Oklahoma’s Hermon Brhane nabbed the Newcomer of the Year accolade. Kansas State junior Petra Niedermayerova was named the inaugural Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Scrivano guided the Bears to a share of the regular season title, going 8-1 in league competition. This was his first conference coaching accolade since 2009. Baylor is currently ranked 19th in the country and will take on San Diego State Friday in the first round of the NCAA Championship.

BU’s Burgic earned the Big 12’s automatic bid into the indivdual NCAA Championship. The sophomore is currently ranked No. 10 in the country and holds a 40-8 mark overall. She has won 15 matches in a row to post a 23-5 dual-match record with all of those matches coming at the No. 1 position.

Addison joined the Longhorns in time for the spring semester and compiled a 24-6 overall singles record with a 21-6 mark in dual matches. The freshman totaled an 8-1 mark in conference play during the regular season. Addison went 3-0 at the Big 12 Championship to help the Longhorns win their second consecutive conference title. She was selected as the tournament’s Most Outstanding Performer. 

OU’s Bhrane is currently ranked No. 66 nationally. She played No. 1 singles for the Sooners and, along with partner Whitney Ritchie, was selected to represent the institution in doubles action at the individual NCAA tournament.

Wildcat Niedermayerova is a junior both athletically and academically, and has a 3.96 cumulative GPA in Economics.

Underclassmen led men’s All-Big 12 team selections with nine freshmen and sophomores on the singles list. The singles team is comprised of four players from both Baylor and Oklahoma, three from Texas and one from TCU. On the doubles team, two OU tandems received recognition, along with one team from Baylor, Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas.

On the women’s side, Texas led with three singles team selections. BU, Kansas State and Oklahoma each had two honorees, and Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas Tech had one. Baylor, K-State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas Tech each had one doubles team make the list.

The All-Big 12 tennis teams and awards are selected by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

2013 All-Big 12 Tennis Awards

Category Men's Winner

Women's Winner

Player of the Year: Costin Paval, Oklahoma, Sr.* Ema Burgic, Baylor, So.
Newcomer of the Year: Patrick Pradella, Baylor, Jr. Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Julian Lenz, Baylor Breaunna Addison, Texas*
  Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma  
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Raphael Pfister, Texas Tech, Sr. Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State, Jr.
Coach of the Year: John Roddick, Oklahoma Joey Scrivano, Baylor


All-Big 12 Team

Men's Women's
Singles Singles
Julian Lenz, Baylor, Fr. Ema Burgic, Baylor, So.
Tony Lupieri, Baylor, So. Jordaan Sanford, Baylor, Jr.
Patrick Pradella, Baylor, Jr. Karla Bonacic, Kansas State, Sr.
Mate Zsiga, Baylor, So. Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State, Jr.
Guillermo Alcorta, Oklahoma, Jr. Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma, Jr.
Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma, Fr. Whitney Ritchie, Oklahoma, Jr.
Costin Paval, Oklahoma, Sr. Malika Rose, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Dane Webb, Oklahoma, So. Stefanie Tan, TCU, So.
Nick Chappell, TCU, So. Breaunna Addison, Texas, Fr.
Orlando Superlano, TCU, Sr. Elizabeth Begley, Texas, Jr. 
Lloyd Glasspool, Texas, So. Aeriel Ellis, Texas, Sr.
Soren Hess-Olesen, Texas, So. Samantha Adams, Texas Tech, Jr.
Daniel Whitehead, Texas, So.   
Doubles  Doubles 
Diego Galeano/Mate Zsiga, Baylor  Ema Burgic/Victoria Kisialeva, Baylor 
Guillermo Alcorta/Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma  Petra Niedermayerova/Karla Bonacic, Kansas State 
Costin Paval/Dane Webb, Oklahoma Whitney Ritchie/Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma 
Rifat Biktyakov/Matt Campbell, Oklahoma State  Malika Rose/Kanyapat Narattana, Oklahoma State
Nick Chappell/Will Stein, TCU  Breaunna Addison/Noel Scott, Texas
Ben Chen/Daniel Whitehead, Texas Kenna Kilgo/Samantha Adams, Texas Tech 
* Denotes unanimous selection
< Tennis
Popular on
Load More