Print RSS
Sixteen Singles Players, Six Doubles Duos to Represent Big 12 at NCAAs
May 20, 2014

The Big 12 Conference will be represented by 16 singles players and six doubles tandems at the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships. The singles and doubles championships will be held May 21-26 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga., following the completion of the NCAA Team Championships.

Oklahoma's Guillermo Alcorta earned the league's automatic qualification on the men's side. Alcorta is joined by nine other Big 12 student-athletes in the men's bracket. Alcorta (19-5 in dual match competition) is seeded No. 5 overall.

Joining Alcorta from Oklahoma is Axel Alvarez, Andrew Harris and Dane Webb. Other selections from the Big 12 include Baylor's Diego Galeano, Julian Lenz and Patrick Pradella, Soren Hess-Olesen and Lloyd Glasspool of Texas and TCU's Nick Chappell. Texas Tech's Felipe Soares was selected as an alternate.

Five men's duos were selected to the men's doubles field. Nick Chappell and Will Stein of TCU claimed the league's automatic bid while Patrick Pradella/Mate Zsiga (BU), Andrew Harris/Dane Webb (OU), Arjun Kadhe/Jakob Sude (OSU) and Lloyd Glasspool/Soren Hess-Olesen earned at-large berths in the tournament.

Breaunna Addison of Texas took the Big 12's automatic singles bid on the women's side and is joined by five additional Big 12 representatives. Kiah Generette and Jordaan Sanford will represent the Big 12 Champion Baylor Lady Bears.

Petra Niedermayerova also earned a singles spot, becoming the first K-State tennis player to advance to the NCAA Championship all four years of her career. Rounding out the Big 12's selections are Viktoriya Lushkova (OSU) and Stefanie Tan (TCU).

Baylor's Victoria Kisialeva and Blair Shankle are the lone women's doubles team representing the Big 12 in the event.

Automatic qualification into the DI singles championships is awarded to any conference with one or more eligible singles players ranked in the ITA Top 125 for eligible/entered singles players. For conferences with more than one singles player within the ITA Top 125 eligible/entered singles players, the subcommittee applies the NCAA selection criteria to determine which student-athlete is the automatic qualifier from those conferences.

All singles players must have a minimum of 13 completed singles matches in order to be selected as an automatic qualifier or an at-large selection. Automatic qualification into the DI doubles championships is awarded to any conference with one or more eligible doubles teams ranked in the ITA Top 60 for eligible/entered doubles teams.

All matches will be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More