Print RSS
Big 12 Student-Athletes Grace Mackey, Rimington Watch Lists
July 09, 2013

Four student-athletes from three Big 12 member institutions have been named to summer watch lists for the John Mackey Award and the Rimington Trophy.

Jordan Najvar (Baylor) is the lone Big 12 representative on the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. The Mackey Award, now in its 14th year, is presented annually to the most outstanding tight end in collegiate football.

First given in 2000, the Mackey Award is named after NFL Hall of Fame tight end, John Mackey. Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 18 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists will be revealed on Nov. 25.

Candidates on this year’s Rimington Trophy Preseason Watch List are B.J. Finney (Kansas State), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma) and Dominic Espinosa (Texas). The Rimington Trophy recognizes the most outstanding center at the collegiate level. The trophy’s namesake, Dave Rimington, is considered to be one of college football’s greatest linemen of all times.

The Mackey Award will be presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on Dec. 12. The show will be broadcast live on ESPNU beginning at 6:00 p.m. CT. The Rimington Trophy Presentation will take place on Jan. 11 at 6:30 p.m. CT in Lincoln, Neb.

Past Big 12 Mackey Award Recipients
2008 Chase Coffman, Missouri
2001 Daniel Graham, Colorado

Past Big 12 Rimington Trophy Recipients
2000 Dominic Raiola, Nebraska

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More