Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Track & Field Team Named
May 08, 2012

The Big 12 Conference has named 272 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Track and Field Team, the league office announced.

A total of 156 female student-athletes were honored, including 140 first team members and 16 second team honorees. On the men's side, 116 earned honors, with 86 first team and 30 second team selections. Combined, the two teams had 226 first team selections and 46 second team members.

Seven male student-athletes represented with a 4.00 GPA - Kellyn Fogarty, Phillip King, Matt Willingham and Merid Seleshi (Missouri); Jeremy Sudbury (Oklahoma); Andrew Hudson (Oklahoma State); and Will Barry (Texas A&M).

On the women's side, 11 student-athletes posted perfect GPAs - Hilary Krein, Jacy Bennett, Brittany Borman and Kristen Rice (Oklahoma); Alyssa Henrichs and Caitlin Way (Oklahoma State); Julie Amthor, Laleh Mojtabaeezamani and Anne Jones (Texas); and Ifeatu Okafor and Roxanne Greve (Texas Tech).

Missouri had the most members for the men and the women, placing 27 honorees on the men's team and 26 on the women's squad.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.
To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


< Track
Popular on
Load More