Print RSS
Oklahoma Men and Texas A&M Women Capture Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Crowns
February 27, 2010

Championship Central

AMES, Iowa - The Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships concluded Feb. 27 at Lied Recreation-Athletic Facility, as the Oklahoma men and Texas A&M women claimed team crowns. After two days of competition, the Sooners totaled 114 points and the Aggie women tallied 130.5. This marked OU’s first men’s indoor conference title, while TAMU earned its fourth consecutive women’s championship.

Texas A&M’s Gabby Mayo won the high-point performer honors for the second straight year. She captured two conference crowns in the 60-meter hurdles (8.05) and 60-meter dash (7.30). Mayo won both events in 2009.

Fellow Aggie Jessica Beard defended her third consecutive title in the 400-meter dash (51.15) with the fastest time on an oversize track and a Big 12 meet record. For the third straight year, Porscha Lucas dashed into first place in the women’s 200 meters (23.12). The Aggie women wrapped up with their fourth straight title in the 4x400 meter relay, setting a new conference meet record time of 3:33.20.

For the OU men’s team, their title came down to the last race. Oklahoma led Nebraska by one point heading into the 4x400 meter relay. The Sooners came in third, clocking a 3:08.01 to best the Huskers’ 3:12.14. Ronnie Ash picked up the 60-meter hurdles title with a NCAA-best time of 7.59, a new Big 12 meet record. Fellow Sooner Rakieem Salaam clinched the 60-meter dash, clocking 6.69.

The Aggie men claimed three crowns. Tabarie Henry claimed first place in the 400 meters (46.28) and Curtis Mitchell won the 200 meters with an automatic qualifying time (20.73). The 4x400 relay team finished at the top with a time of 3:04.99.

Texas Tech’s Bryce Lamb garnered the men’s high-point performer accolades with 20 points. He took the triple jump title, setting a conference meet record at 54-0.50 (16.47m).

In the field events, Nebraska’s Leandra McGruder grabbed the women’s triple jump with a mark of 43-0.25 (13.11m). The Huskers nabbed first place in the men’s and women’s high jump. Paul Hamilton finished with an automatic qualifying mark of 7-5.00 (2.26m). Epley Bullock led the women, clearing 6-0.75 (1.85m) for her second career title in the event (2008). OU’s Karen Shump automatically qualified for NCAA Indoors, throwing 56-7.25 (17.25m) in the women’s shot put. Kansas’ Mason Finely posted a mark of 63-2.00 (19.25m) to win the men’s title.

In the running events, Texas Tech’s LaToy Williams notched a time of 1:08.92 with his first place victory in the men’s 600 yards. Jayhawk Taylor Washington finished first (1:20.48) on the women’s side. Texas Tech’s Purity Biwott clocked a 2:07.04, winning the women’s 800 run. In the men’s race, Baylor’s James Gilreath gave the Bears their first individual crown (1:49.21) at this year’s championships.

Lisa Koll shattered a Big 12 meet record (9:11.41) en route to capturing her second Big 12 indoor crown in the 3,000 meters, with an automatic qualifying time of 8:56.09. In the men’s race, Colby Lowe picked up Oklahoma State’s first title of the championship, clocking 8:03.11.

In the mile run, Texas Tech’s Caroline Karunde cruised to a first place finish with a time of 4:40.82 on the women’s side. Iowa State’s Hillary Bor picked up the Cyclones first title (4:12.59) in the men’s mile since 1997.

Missouri’s Layne Moore topped the women’s 1,000-meter run (2:50.12). Longhorn Patrick Todd won his second straight championship crown in the men’s race (2:27.56).

Finally, Mizzou’s Nick Adcock posted a first place finish in the men’s heptathlon, totaling 5,938 points for a new Big 12 indoor meet record.


  Team Points
1. Oklahoma 114
2. Nebraska 110
3. Texas A&M     99.5


Baylor 80
5. Texas Tech 74.5
6.    Texas 71
7. Iowa State 50
8. Kansas State          44.5
9. Missouri           39
10. Kansas 31.5
11. Oklahoma State 24
12. Colorado 1


  Team Points
1. Texas A&M 130.5
2. Texas Tech              115
3. Nebraska 96
4.    Oklahoma 65
5. Kansas 63.5
6. Iowa State 59
7. Texas 58
8. Kansas State 54
9. Baylor 40
10. Missouri 35
11. Oklahoma State 13
12. Colorado 11












< Track
Popular on
Load More