Print RSS
Nebraska Men, Texas A&M Women Crowned Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Champions
May 16, 2010

Championship Central | Photo Gallery

COLUMBIA, MO. -- The defending champions - Nebraska men and Texas A&M women - captured the 2010 Big 12 Track and Field Championships on Sunday at the Audrey J. Walton Track and Field Complex. The Huskers tallied 118 points for their second straight team win, while the Aggies claimed 157 points for their fourth consecutive Big 12 crown.

The women’s high point performer was awarded to Texas A&M’s Jeneba Tarmoh after outstanding wins in the 100 and 200-meter dash. The sophomore set a Walton track record with an 11.19 finish in the 100 meters. Her time of 22.65 in the 200 meters was a nation’s best this season.

For the first time in Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field history, there was a three-way tie for men’s high point performer. Mason Finley (Kansas), John Kosegi (Oklahoma State) and Gerald Phiri (Texas A&M) shared the honor.

Finley, ranked third nationally, posted a mark of 197-5 (60.18) for first place in the discus throw. The freshman also won the shot put on Saturday. Kosegi, who won the 10,000 meters on Friday morning, took the men’s 5,000 meters with a time of 14:05.96 for his second title of the meet. Phiri clocked a 10.13 en route to setting a Big 12 meet record in the 100-meter dash.

In the field events, defending high jump champion Paul Hamilton (Nebraska) threw a 7-1.75 (2.18) for his second straight title.

In the triple jump, Ashika Charan (Texas A&M) nailed a 42-9.50 (13.04) for first place. On the men’s side, fellow Aggie Zuheir Sharif added a victory with a mark of 52-8.75 (16.07).

Texas Tech’s Shade Weygandt earned the win in the women’s pole vault, posting a 14-2.75 (4.34) to give the Red Raiders their first title in the event.

Oklahoma freshman Karen Shump, third in the NCAA, claimed her first Big 12 outdoor title in the shot put with a mark of 54-8.75 (16.68). Fellow Sooner Amy Backel, No. 4 nationally, was victorious with a javelin throw of 182-05 (55.60) for a Walton track record.

In the first track event of the day, the Aggie women won their fourth consecutive 4x100 relay (43.74). Baylor’s Trey Harts outran TAMU's Curtis Mitchell in the anchor leg to win the men's 4x100 for a new facility record (39.36).

Colorado's Emma Coburn, who owns the second-best time in the NCAA, claimed the 3,000-meter steeplechase title with a Big 12 meet record time of 9:56.53. Hillary Bor (Iowa State), the collegiate leader in the men’s steeplechase, won the event in a time of 8:47.82.

In the 1,500-meter run, Kansas' Lauren Bonds won the women's race (4:20.02) and Oklahoma State's Johnathan Stublaski finished first on the men's side (3:43.31).

Natasha Ruddock (Texas A&M) picked up her first women’s 110-meter hurdles title (12.89). For the men, Ronnie Ash’s (Oklahoma) time of 13.31 set a Walton track and conference meet record.

In the 400-meter hurdles, Kianna Elahi nabbed Iowa State’s first title (57.40) in the women’s event. Texas Tech’s Bryce Brown recorded a 49.64 in the win on the men’s side.

Texas A&M swept the 400-meter dashes, as two-time defending Big 12 champion and collegiate leader Jessica Beard ran a 52.08 to win the women’s race. Tabarie Henry sprinted a time of 45.89 for TAMU’s first program win in the event.

Aggie Curtis Mitchell added a first-place finish in the 200 meters (20.46) for a track record, besting teammate and last year’s champion Phiri (20.61).

Missouri’s Blake Irwin grabbed the Tiger’s first title in the 800-meter run since 2000, clocking a 1:48.40. Kansas State picked up a win in the women’s run, as freshman Sara Stoakes earned the Wildcats’ first crown since 2003 with a time of 2:07.16.

In the 5,000-meter run, defending champion Lisa Koll (Iowa State) breezed to her second Big 12 Outdoor title of the meet. Her time of 15:22.42 bested the previous conference meet record by 36 seconds and the field of competition by 46 seconds.

In the final races of the night, Texas A&M swept the men’s and women’s 4x400-meter relay. The women clocked a 3:31.79 for the victory. The men’s relay came down to a close race between the Aggies and Baylor Bears, but TAMU pulled ahead with a time of 3:04.45.

With the completion of conference action, qualifying athletes head to NCAA regional competition, May 27-29. The NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships are scheduled for June 9-12 in Eugene, Ore.

Men's Team Rankings

1. Nebraska 118
2. Oklahoma 114
3. Texas A&M
4. Texas Tech 77
5. Baylor 63
6. Colorado 57
7. Texas
Kansas 53
9. Oklahoma State 47
10. Missouri 44
11. Kansas State
Iowa State 39

Women's Team Rankings
1. Texas A&M
2. Nebraska 102
3. Texas
4. Iowa State
5. Texas Tech
6. Oklahoma 76.50
7. Kansas 71
8. Baylor
9. Kansas State
10. Missouri 24
11. Colorado 20
 12. Oklahoma State 11
< Track
Popular on
Load More