Print RSS
Four Big 12 Athletes Named to Guy, Groza Watch Lists
July 10, 2013

Two Big 12 punters have been placed on the preseason watch list for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, while two kickers were also selected to the annual Lou Groza Award watch list.

Junior Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State) and sophomore Ethan Perry (TCU) represent the Big 12 on the Guy Award watch list.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Guy Award to recognize the nation's top collegiate punter and is named in honor of College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy. The winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Guy Award winners.

Candidates on the Groza Award watch list include junior Michael Hunnicutt (Oklahoma) and sophomore Jaden Oberkrom (TCU).

Oberkrom was named a semifinalist for the Groza Award as a freshman.

The Groza Award is presented by the Orange Bowl Committee to the nation's top place-kicker and is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.

Semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award will be announced November 8 with semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award announced November 4. The top three finalists are determined November 25.

Both winners will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN Thursday, December 12.
< Track
Popular on
Load More