Print RSS
Big 12 Lands Two Quarterbacks on O達rien Watch List
July 17, 2013

The Davey O’Brien Foundation named two Big 12 quarterbacks to its 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List.

David Ash (Texas) and Casey Pachall (TCU) represent the Big 12 on the list that includes 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks. Pachall makes his second consecutive appearance on the watch list.

The award is named after TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien, who, in 1938, became the first player to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp trophies in the same year. The O’Brien is presented annually to the top college quarterback and is the oldest national quarterback award.

A subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee compiled this year’s list based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to be awarded the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25.

 The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12. The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Past Big 12 O’Brien Award Recipients
2011 Robert Griffin III       Baylor
2009 Colt McCoy               Texas
2008 Sam Bradford          Oklahoma
2005 Vince Young             Texas
2004 Jason White             Oklahoma
2003 Jason White             Oklahoma
2001 Eric Crouch               Nebraska
< Track
Popular on
Load More