Print RSS
Big 12 Cross Country Championships Set for October 29
October 26, 2011
The 2011 Big 12 Cross Country Championship will be held Oct. 29 at Pebble Creek Country Club in College Station, Texas. This marks the second time Texas A&M has hosted the event, having played host in 1999.

The conference meet kicks off at 10 a.m. CT with the men's 8,000-meter race. The women's 6,000-meter run will follow at 11 a.m. CT. The event is free to attend.

The top men's and women's teams are crowned league champions, while the top 15 individuals in each race earn All-Big 12 honors. The top newcomer in each race will earn Newcomer of the Year accolades.

The Oklahoma State men and Texas Tech women have dominated the Big 12 cross country scene the past three seasons, entering Saturday's meet as three-time defending champions. The Cowboys have claimed the national title the past two years, while the Lady Raiders have placed fourth and third at the last two NCAA Championships.

In the latest NCAA Division I national rankings, the Big 12 boasts four men's teams and three women's squads in the top 30. For the men, Oklahoma State has claimed the top spot every week in the poll this year. No. 5 Oklahoma ranks next, followed by No. 11 Texas and No. 24 Texas A&M.

On the women's side, No. 12 Texas leads the league, followed by No. 13 Iowa State and No. 30 Oklahoma State.

In men's action, four of the top 10 finishers from last year are slated to compete. The OSU trio of German Fernandez, Colby Lowe and Tom Farrell all placed in the top five at the 2010 Championship, as well as finishing in the top 30 at nationals. Oklahoma's Kevin Schawb rounds out the top 10 returnees.

Highlighting the women's field, Texas Tech's Rose Tanui looks to defend her championship title. Tanui led the Big 12 at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championship last season, placing fifth with a time of 20:18. She earned Big 12 Cross Country Runner of the Week accolades twice this season, while Rebeka Stowe (KU), Katherine Devlin (TAMU), Dani Stack (ISU), Devin Wiegers (KU) and Meaghan Nelson (ISU) each collected weekly honors as well.

Video highlights and full results will be made available following the races via the conference website at

For complete information on the 2011 Big 12 Cross Country Men's and Women's Championships, visit here.

Meet results will also be posted on the websites of USTFCCCA and Delta Timing.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More