Print RSS
Ihmels, Smith Named 2011 Big 12 Cross Country Coaches of the Year
October 31, 2011
Corey Ihmels (Iowa State) and Dave Smith (Oklahoma State) have been selected as the 2011 Big 12 Cross Country Coaches of the Year, as voted by the league's coaches. This is the first honor for Ihmels and the fourth-straight accolade for Smith.

Ihmels' women's team claimed its first Big 12 Championship in school history. Three Cyclones earned All-Big 12 honors en route to a team score of 68. Meaghan Nelson, the Cyclones top finisher, placed second in a time of 19:33.8, just three seconds behind first place. The Iowa State women have won three of the four team meets they have competed in this season. Under Ihmels, the women's team won the Midwest Regional Championship in 2010 and ran to the second-best NCAA finish in program history, placing eighth. Ihmels took over as Director of Track & Field and Cross Country in 2007.

The Cowboys have won four-straight Big 12 Championships while being coached by Smith. Seniors German Fernandez and Colby Lowe claimed the top two spots earning All-Big 12 accolades, along with Shadrack Kipchirchir, Tom Farrell and Joseph Manilafasha. Smith's team tabbed a total of 30 points, finishing 13 points ahead of second-place Oklahoma. Under Smith's watch, the Cowboys have won the regional cross country crown and finished in the top-10 at the national meet every year. Smith started out as an assistant coach for the men's team in 2002 and took over as head coach in 2006.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More