Print RSS
Big 12 Tabs 39 Cross Country All-Region Honorees
November 12, 2012

Thirty-nine league runners have earned Division I All-Region awards, following the NCAA Regional Championships on Nov. 9. The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association recognized 450 student-athletes.

The Big 12 notched 21 men and 18 women on the list. Oklahoma and Texas led all men's teams with six of the seven runners on their regional squads finishing among the Midwest Regional's top 25. Oklahoma State followed with five runners earning the honor. On the women's side, Iowa State, Oklahoma State and Texas each had four honorees to lead the league.

Athletes of member schools that finished in the top 25 individually at one of the nine regional sites earned the honor.

Three men's cross country teams and three women's squads will compete in the NCAA Championships including Iowa State (women), Oklahoma (men), Oklahoma State (men/women) and Texas (men/women). Texas Tech's Kennedy Kithuka earned a NCAA bid after winning the Mountain Regional. Three individual women tallied NCAA bids including Agnes Kemboi (TCU), Jessica Engel (Oklahoma) and Sarah-Anne Brault (West Virginia).

Louisville will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Saturday at E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park. The women's race is slated to begin at 11:00 a.m. CT, followed by the men's at 12:15 p.m.

A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast on

USTFCCCA All-Region Awards

Men Women
Edward Kemboi, Iowa State Betsy Saina, Iowa State
Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State Meaghan Nelson, Iowa State
Gabe Gonzalez, Kansas Crystal Nelson, Iowa State
Patrick Casey, Oklahoma Samantha Bluske, Iowa State
Kevin Williams, Oklahoma Laura Galvan, Kansas State
Bill Kogel, Oklahoma Jessica Engel, Oklahoma
Riley Masters, Oklahoma Monika Juodeskaite, Oklahoma State
Andrew Weaver, Oklahoma Natalja Piliusina, Oklahoma State
Ryan Poland, Oklahoma Jacqueline Campos, Oklahoma State
Girma Mecheso, Oklahoma State Kate Kujawa, Oklahoma State
Tom Farrell, Oklahoma State Agnes Kemboi, TCU
Shane Moskowitz, Oklahoma State Marielle Hall, Texas
Joseph Manilafasha, Oklahoma State Sara Sutherland, Texas
Brian Gohlke, Oklahoma State Laleh Mojtabaeezamani, Texas
Ryan Dohner, Texas Megan Siebert, Texas
Craig Lutz, Texas Sarah-Anne Brault, West Virginia
Rory Tunningley, Texas Kelly Williams, West Virginia
Kyle Merber, Texas Sydney Scott, West Virginia
Patrick McGregor, Texas  
Trevor Van Ackeren, Texas  
Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech  

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More