2018 Baseball Championship - Game 5 Press Conference
Print RSS
Smith & Grove-McDonough Earn 2013 Big 12 Cross Country Coaches of the Year
November 06, 2013

Dave Smith (Oklahoma State) and Andrea Grove-McDonough (Iowa State) have been selected as the 2013 Big 12 Cross Country Coaches of the Year, as voted by the league’s coaches. This is the sixth-consecutive accolade for Smith. Grove-McDonough captures the award in her first year as the Cyclones head coach.

The Cowboys have won six-straight Big 12 Championships under Smith. In last week’s meet, Kirubel Erassa, Shadrack Kipchirchir and Thomas Farrell finished second, third and fifth, respectively, to help lead OSU to victory. The Cowboys had five runners finish in the top 12 to finish with 33 points, which was 44 points ahead of the second place team.

Under Smith's watch, the Cowboys have finished in the top-10 at the NCAA Championships every year of his tenure, including national titles in three of the last four seasons.

Grove-McDonough led the Iowa State women to a third-straight Big 12 title. The Cyclones finished with three runners in the top five, including Crystal Nelson who improved on last year’s eighth-place finish to finish runner-up this season, knocking nearly a full minute off last season’s time in the 6k.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More