Print RSS
Nebraska Leads After Opening Day of Big 12 Track & Field
February 27, 2009

Track Results  |  Field Results  |  Photos

College Station, Texas The Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships opened Feb. 27 at Gilliam Indoor Track & Field Stadium, with Nebraska’s men and women’s squads leading the team competition. In front of 3,146 fans, the Husker women tallied 56 team points, while the men had 42.5.

Nebraska began the conference meet with three individual champions Megan Wheatley in the women’s pentathlon (4,211 points), Nebraska’s Natalie Willer in the women’s pole vault (4.22m) and Nicholas Gordon in the men’s long jump (7.96m). Gordon’s mark was a Big 12 meet record and an NCAA automatic-qualifying mark.

Loren Groves highlighted the field events, giving Kansas State a boost with her third consecutive women’s weight throw crown. Groves, who grabbed a meet record with her 20.87 mark, is only the second thrower in her event to win three straight titles. She joins fellow Wildcat Renetta Seiler in achieving the feat, as Seiler did so from 1997-99.

Also in the field events, Chris Rohr of Missouri won the men’s weight throw with a mark of 22.30m. Jordan Scott (Kansas) took home the men’s pole vault (5.55m), while Ti’Anca Mock of Oklahoma added a top finish in the women’s long jump (6.28m).

In the running events, Texas Tech’s Lillian Badaru claimed the women’s 5,000m championship with a time of 16:16.33. John Kosgei won the men’s 5,000, clocking a 14:10.18.

Texas ran away with the men’s distance medley relay, as Jacob Hernandez, Danzell Fortson, Tevan Everett and Jake Morse combined for a winning time of 11:13.77. With the win, the Longhorns earned their fourth consecutive DMR title and claimed the meet-record mark. The women’s race saw Texas Tech put up a time of 11:13.77 from Gladys Kipsang, Jonisha Boleware, Asia Diaz and Sally Kipyego.

The final day of championship competition resumes Saturday, Feb. 28 with combined events at 3 p.m.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More