Print RSS
Big 12 Women's Golf Postseason Honors Announced
May 03, 2012
With the 2011-12 women's golf regular season wrapped up, the sport's postseason award winners have been determined.

For just the second time in league history, one female student-athlete has garnered both the Player and Newcomer of the Year awards as Oklahoma State's Kelsey Vines is this year's recipient. Former Cowgirl Caroline Hedwall is the only other female golfer to earn both honors. The junior closed out the regular season ranked 24th nationally after finishing in a tie for eighth at the Big 12 Championship. The BYU transfer had a team-best five top-10 finishes during 2011-12, including a pair of individual victories at the Windy City Collegiate and the Entrada Classic. The Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest ranked individual from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the league championship.

Oklahoma women's head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell garnered her first Coach of the Year accolade, as voted by the league's coaches. Drouin-Luttrell guided the Sooners to their second conference championship crown, where four OU golfers finished in the top 16. Oklahoma, ranked 28th nationally, had two tournament victories in the fall and two second-place finishes this spring. Including the Big 12 Championship, Drouin-Luttrell's squad has finished in the top 5 in six of nine events this year. She is the second Sooner women's golf coach to be named Coach of the Year (Carol Ludvigson, 2001).

A total of six institutions placed student-athletes on the All-Big 12 Team. Baylor, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M and Texas Tech each had two golfers named to the team. The Lady Bears were represented by Chelsey Cothran and Hayley Davis. Jayde Panos joined Vines as Oklahoma State's honorees, while Mary Michael Maggio and Katerina Ruzickova were TAMU's representatives. Texas Tech's two selections came in Gabby Dominguez and Kimberly Kaufman, the first time since 2000 that a Lady Raider has been named to the squad.

Oklahoma and Texas had one honoree apiece with Chirapat Jao-Javanil and Nicole Vandermade, respectively. The team was identified using the top 10 highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship.

All-Big 12 Team

Chelsey Cothran, Baylor
Hayley Davis, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
Jayde Panos, Oklahoma State
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Nicole Vandermade, Texas
Mary Michael Maggio, Texas A&M
Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M
Gabriella Dominguez, Texas Tech
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Player of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

Coach of the Year
Veronique Drouin-Luttrell, Oklahoma

< Golf
Popular on
Load More