Print RSS
Texas and Texas A&M Headline Big 12 Men's Golf Postseason Honors
May 03, 2012
The top two finishers at this year's Big 12 Men's Golf Championship, Texas A&M and Texas, headline the sport's postseason awards.

Jordan Spieth becomes the fourth male golfer in Big 12 history to tally both the Player and Newcomer of the Year awards, joining Oklahoma State's Rickie Fowler (2008) and Morgan Hoffman (2009), and former UT great David Gossett (1999). He is the third-straight Longhorn to receive Newcomer of the Year honors. The freshman finished fifth in his first conference championship, carding two subpar rounds in the 72-hole event. He captured three tournament wins and seven top-5 finishes in his inaugural year at Texas. The Dallas-native was named a semifinalist for the 2012 Ben Hogan Award. The Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest-ranked individual from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Conference championship.

On the heels of leading the 11th-ranked Aggies to their first-ever league championship crown, Texas A&M men's golf coach J.T. Higgins has been tabbed Coach of the Year, as voted by the league's coaches. In his 11th season at the helm, the squad boasts 11 top-5 finishes on the year, including two first-place titles, and has earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals. He is the first Aggie men's coach to earn the distinction.

Leading the way on the All-Big 12 Team is Texas with four representatives. Dylan Frittelli, Toni Hakula, Spieth and Julio Vegas make up the most UT golfers on the squad in league history. Texas A&M nabbed two honorees in Cameron Peck and Jordan Russell, while Joakim Mikkelsen (Baylor), Nate McCoy (Iowa State), Jace Long (Missouri) and Taylor Gooch (Oklahoma State) rounded out the selections. The team was identified using the top 10 highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship.

All-Big 12 Team
Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor
Nate McCoy, Iowa State
Jace Long, Missouri
Taylor Gooch, Oklahoma State
Dylan Frittelli, Texas
Toni Hakula, Texas
Jordan Spieth, Texas
Julio Vegas, Texas
Cameron Peck, Texas A&M
Jordan Russell, Texas A&M

Player of the Year
Jordan Spieth, Texas

Newcomer of the Year
Jordan Spieth, Texas

Coach of the Year
J.T. Higgins, Texas A&M

< Golf
Popular on
Load More