Print RSS
Missouri Crowned 2009 Big 12 Softball Champions
May 10, 2009

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The No. 2 seed Missouri Tigers won the 2009 Big 12 Softball Championship title over top-seeded Oklahoma, 5-0, at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium. This is the second postseason conference championship for MU in the history of the event, having won its first in 1997. The victory also marks the first time that a No. 1 seed has lost to a lower-seeded squad in the title game.

Missouri came out swinging, recording eight hits in the contest.  The Tigers filled the bases early with no outs in the first inning after a hit and two walks. OU freshman Kirsten Allen struck out the next two batters, but walked Micaela Minner to give MU the 1-0 advantage. 

Oklahoma left one on in the first inning after two walks, as Tiger catcher Megan Christopher caught the Sooners' Amber Flores stealing at third. Both teams had three-up and three-down in the second, and were also scoreless in the third despite MU having one hit.

The Tigers picked up their second run compliments of Minner off an OU error. Mizzou's Rhea Taylor then hit a triple to right-center, before being driven in by senior Andee Allen's single to right field to give the team a 3-0 lead heading into the bottom of the fifth inning. 

The Tigers then recorded two more runs off two hits and an error, including a solo home run by junior Gina Schneider over the left field fence.

The Sooners inability to get on the scoreboard marked only the third time this season they have been shut out by their opponent.  It was the third time in league history that Oklahoma has been held scoreless in the Big 12 Championship title game.

Missouri pitcher Chelsea Thomas was voted the 2009 Most Outstanding Player by a vote of media members. The freshman hurler pitched two shutouts on the weekend, including the complete-game effort in the championship contest.  She allowed five hits in 11 innings while striking out seven.  Thomas posted an ERA of 0.00 to lead her team to the postseason crown.

OU falls to 40-14 overall and awaits an at-large selection to the NCAA Championship.  Mizzou advances its record to 45-9 and earns the league's automatic NCAA berth.  The selection show announcing the 64-team field for the 2009 NCAA Division I Softball Championship will begin at 9 p.m. CT, Sunday night on ESPNU.

For more information, live updates and photo galleries of the 2009 Big 12 Softball Championship, log on to

All-Tournament Team
Whitney Canion, Baylor, P
Alex Colyer, Baylor, INF
Amanda Bradberry, Iowa State, INF
Andee Allen, Missouri, 2B
Megan Christopher, Missouri, C
Stacy Delaney, Missouri, P
Rhea Taylor, Missouri, OF
Chelsea Thomas, Missouri, P (Most Outstanding Player)
Julie Brechtel, Nebraska, INF
Amber Flores, Oklahoma, 2B
D.J. Mathis, Oklahoma, P
Karolyne Long, Oklahoma, INF
Courtney Craig, Texas, P/UTL

< Championship Pages
Popular on
Load More