Print RSS
5 Big 12 Student-Athletes Up for Arthur Ashe Award
April 19, 2012
Wendell Barnhouse is a nationally-known and respected columnist who has spent over 20 years covering collegiate athletics. He has reported from 25 Final Fours and more than three dozen bowl games and has written about the Big 12 and its schools since the conference's beginning. Barnhouse will be updating the Big 12 Insider on happenings and behind-the-scenes information about the conference.

The Big 12 has five of the 20 finalists for the 2012 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award. No other conference has more. There are 10 male finalists and 10 female finalsits. The Big 12 is represented by Kansas State's Victory Ojeleye (men's basketball), Emmanuel Acho (Texas, football), Chelsea Garcia (Oklahoma State, softball), Krista Lopez (Oklahoma State, soccer) and Beth West (Texas A&M, soccer).

The Sports Scholar Award was established in 1992 to honor undergraduate students of color who exemplify the standards set by tennis great Arthur Ashe Jr. To be nominated, student-athletes must compete in an intercollegiate sport, maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2 and be active on their campuses or their communities. 

Baylor's Robert Griffin III won the award last year.

< Insider
Popular on
Load More