Print RSS
Big 12 Football Title Comes Down To Two Games
December 05, 2013
Wendell Barnhouse is a nationally-known and respected columnist who has spent over 20 years covering collegiate athletics. He has reported from 25 Final Fours and more than three dozen bowl games and has written about the Big 12 and its schools since the conference's beginning. Barnhouse will be updating the Big 12 Insider on happenings and behind-the-scenes information about the conference.

For the third consecutive season, the Big 12 football champion will be decided on the final day of the regular season. And while peer conferences will stage a championship game, the Big 12 has championship games (that’s PLURAL, folks).

Here’s what Ivan Maisel of wrote about the Big 12 schedule: “The Big 12 didn’t need a big prime-time showdown at AT&T Stadium to end up with a marquee final weekend of conference play. The league’s schedule makers should get holiday bonuses for their work this year, pitting the Big 12’s four best teams against each other on championship weekend with a conference title on the line. Odds are Oklahoma State wraps it all up with a victory over Oklahoma, but if the Sooners pull the upset all eyes will be on Texas-Baylor to decide who gets the trophy.”

Bedlam matches Oklahoma at Oklahoma State (11 a.m. CT, ABC) while Texas visits Baylor (2:30 p.m. CT, FOX) in the final game at Floyd Casey Stadium. The Cowboys, Longhorns and Bears all enter the weekend with 7-1 league records.

Oklahoma State has the head-to-head tiebreaker over Texas and Baylor. A victory in Bedlam would give the Cowboys the Big 12’s automatic berth in the BCS and a trip to the Fiesta Bowl. The winner of Texas-Baylor would earn a share of the Big 12 title. If Oklahoma wins Bedlam, the Texas-Baylor winner would be the undisputed Big 12 champion.

From the first year the Conference began competition in 1996-97, the Big 12 member schools decided that regular-season competition could produce multiple champions in any sport, even if the sport has a postseason championship event.  Men’s basketball has produced regular-season co-champions four times, including last season. Women’s basketball has had multiple regular-season champions three times.  A complete list is included below.

The Big 12 is the only FBS conference that plays a round-robin regulars-season schedule and is the only major conference in 2013 where every league member has at least one conference victory.  Going into the final day of the season, the schedule has produced a unique “circle of life” list of results that connects each of the 10 member squads…..

West Virginia beat Oklahoma State; Oklahoma State beat Texas/Baylor; Texas/Baylor beat Oklahoma; Oklahoma beat K-State; K-State beat Texas Tech; Texas Tech beat TCU; TCU beat Iowa State; Iowa State beat Kansas; Kansas beat West Virginia.

Big 12 Regular Season Co- Champions (Since 1996-97)

2004-05 – Baylor, Nebraska
2010-11 – Texas, Texas A&M

Men’s Basketball
2004-05 – Kansas, Oklahoma
2005-06 – Kansas, Texas
2007-08 – Kansas, Texas
2012-13 – Kansas, Kansas State

Women’s Basketball
1999-2000 – Iowa State, Oklahoma, Texas Tech
2003-04 – Kansas State, Texas
2006-07 – Oklahoma, Texas A&M

2012 – Kansas State, Oklahoma

2004 – Kansas, Texas A&M

Men’s Tennis
2006 – Baylor, Texas
2008 – Texas, Baylor

Women’s Tennis
2001 – Texas, Oklahoma State
2003 – Baylor, Texas A&M
2007 – Baylor, Texas
2013 – Baylor, Texas Tech

2007 – Nebraska, Texas
2008 – Nebraska, Texas

< Insider
Popular on
Load More