Print RSS
Seven Student-Athletes Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalists
October 02, 2013

Seven Big 12 seniors have been selected as semifinalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation announced Wednesday.

Jordan Naivar (Baylor), Jeff Woody (Iowa State), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Clint Chelf (Oklahoma State), Nate Boyer (Texas), Jon Koontz (TCU) and Chris Feigt (West Virginia) are among 54 semifinalists representing the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The Campbell Trophy is in its 24th year honoring college football's top scholar-athlete. Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 31. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York
City to be honored Dec. 10 during the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf=Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.

Previous Big 12 winners include: Sam Acho (Texas), 2010; Dallas Griffin (Texas), 2007 and Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska), 2000.

< Basketball (W)
Popular on
Load More