Print RSS
All-Big 12 Equestrian Team & Yearly Awards Announced
March 29, 2012

On the eve of the Big 12 Championship, 20 student-athletes have been recognized on the 2012 All-Big 12 Equestrian team as voted on by the league’s coaches. Six of those athletes were additionally honored as Riders of the Year in the Conference.

Texas A&M led the way with six athletes making the All-Big 12 team. Baylor and Oklahoma State each were represented with five selections, while Kansas State had four riders earn the distinction.

Baylor’s Lisa Goldman was named the Equitation over Fences Rider of the Year, after leading Baylor to a 10-4 regular-season record. The senior earned the Conference’s Rider of the Month honor in October as she averaged 84.5 points in league matches against Kansas State and Oklahoma State. Goldman was also selected to the All-Big 12 team in both the Equitation over Fences and Equitation on the Flat events.

BU earned its second individual honor as Taylor Brown split Equitation on the Flat Rider of the Year honors with Oklahoma State’s Jordan White. Brown and White were also unanimously selected for the All-Big 12 team in the discipline. The Cowgirl senior was recognized by the Conference in November as a Big 12 Rider of the Month.

In the Horsemanship discipline, OSU’s Katy Krshka and Texas A&M’s Carey Nowacek shared the Rider of the Year award. Krshka has a team-high 16 wins on the season (nine in horsemanship, seven in reining) and boasts a .762 overall winning percentage. Nowacek ranks second all-time on the A&M horsemanship charts in victories (37) and MVPs (13). This season, Nowacek earned Big 12 Rider of the Month honors in both October and November.

OSU senior Caroline Daniels took home the Conference’s rider of the year title in reining. The Cowgirl standout is riding a six-match win streak, including four-straight MVP performances, all coming against top ten competition. She won the Big 12 Rider of the Month award in February and is currently 8-3 on the year.

Texas A&M’s Tana McKay was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year, after directing her team to a 9-3 regular-season mark and a 3-3 record in league play. McKay has her Aggies currently ranked No. 2 in the Women’s Intercollegiate Equestrian National Coaches Poll. She has been the only coach in the 13-year history of the Texas A&M program. The Aggies have won eight western riding team national championships in addition to capturing the first-ever overall Varsity Equestrian National Championship in 2002 under her watch.


(Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players or themself)
Coach of the Year: Tana McKay, Texas A&M
Equitation over Fences Rider of the Year: Lisa Goldman, Baylor, Sr.
Equitation on the Flat Riders of the Year*: Taylor Brown, Baylor, Jr.
                            Jordan White, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Horsemanship Riders of the Year*:  Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, Fr.
                         Carey Nowacek, Texas A&M, Jr.
Reining Rider of the Year: Caroline Daniels, Oklahoma State, Sr.
*Ties in voting created Co-Equitation on the Flat and Co-Horsemanship Riders of the Year

Equitation over Fences
Lisa Goldman*, Baylor, Sr.
Sarah Mershon*, Kansas State, So.
Samantha Harrison , Oklahoma State, So.
Leah Chennelle , Texas A&M, Fr.
Equitation on the Flat
Taylor Brown*, Baylor, Jr.
Lisa Goldman, Baylor, Sr.
Larrisa Laffey*, Kansas State, Jr.
Jordan White*, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Hannah Soibelman, Texas A&M, Sr.
Elizabeth Solch, Texas A&M, Sr.
Parris Rice, Baylor, Fr.
Kelly Bovaird, Kansas State, So.
Lauren Halvorson, Oklahoma State, So.,
Katy Krshka*, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Carey Nowacek*, Texas A&M, Jr.
Amanda Brightwell*, Texas A&M, Jr.
Olivia Rogers*, Baylor, Jr.,
Sam Etsell*, Kansas State, Jr.
Caroline Daniels*, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Becca Murray*, Texas A&M, Jr.

(ties in the Equitation on the Flat and Horsemanship events created a 20-member All-Big 12 Team)
* - unanimous selection

< Equestrian
Popular on
Load More