Print RSS
Ten from Big 12 Earn AVCA All-America Status
December 12, 2012
Ten Big 12 volleyball student-athletes have earned All-America distinctions from the American Volleyball Coaches Associations. Haley Eckerman and Bailey Webster (Texas) headline the group with first team recognitions.

Kristen Hahn (Iowa State) and Caroline Jarmoc (Kansas) collected second team honors while Alison Landwehr (Iowa State) and Sallie McLaurin (Oklahoma) were placed on the third team.

Honorable mention was given to Victoria Hurtt (Iowa State), Kaitlynn Pelger (Kansas State), and Khat Bell and Sha'Dare McNeal (Texas).

Eckerman, the Big 12 Player of the Year, was a second team selection in 2011 as a freshman. She finished the season leading the Conference in points (5.24) and kills (4.60) in Big 12-only contests. She also ranked second in service aces (0.45) and seventh in hitting percentage (.328). The 2011 AVCA Freshman of the Year was just the third sophomore to earn the Big 12 Player of the Year award. She collected five Big 12 Player of the Week honors this season.

Webster, the 2011 Big 12 Player of the Year, is only one of two back-to-back first team honorees. Her 371 kills entering the NCAA Championship placed her second on the Longhorns' squad as she finished the regular season hitting .345 with 81 blocks and 423 points. The junior was a unanimous All-Big 12 First Team honoree. Eckerman and Webster have helped lead the Longhorns to their eighth national semifinal appearance.

Jarmoc became the first Kansas volleyball player to earn All-America honors.

The league has had 106 AVCA All-America honorees, including 43 first-team members. This marks the ninth year the Big 12 has had at least seven or more combined selections.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 14 student-athletes with selections made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee.

AVCA All-America Selections
First Team
Haley Eckerman, Texas, OH, So.
Bailey Webster, Texas, OH, Jr.

Second Team
Kristen Hahn, Iowa State, L, Jr.
Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas, MB, Jr.

Third Team
Alison Landwehr, Iowa State, S, Sr.
Sallie McLaurin, Oklahoma, MB, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Victoria Hurtt, Iowa State, OH, So.
Kaitlynn Pelger, Kansas State, MB, Jr.
Khat Bell, Texas, MB, So.
Sha'Dare McNeal, Texas, RS/OPP, Sr.

< Rowing
Popular on
Load More